The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Columbus, Ohio

Mayors of Columbus, 1816-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Jarvis W. Pike 1816-17 John Kerr 1818-19 Eli C. King 1820-22 John Laughrey 1823 William T. Martin 1824-26 James Robinson 1827 William Long 1827-33 Philo H. Olmsted 1833-34 John Brooks 1834-35 John Bailhache 1835 Warren Jenkins 1836-37 Philo H. Olmsted 1838-40 John G. Miller 1840-41 Thomas Wood 1841 Abram I. McDowell 1842 Smithson E. Wright 1843-44 Alexander Patton 1845 Augustus S. Decker 1846 Alexander Patton 1847-49 Lorenzo English 1850-61 Wray Thomas 1861-64 James G. Bull 1865-68 George W. Meeker 1869-70 James G. Bull 1871-74 John H. Heitmann 1875-78 Gilbert G. Collins 1879-80 George S. Peters 1881-82 Charles C. Walcutt 1883-86 Philip H. Bruck 1887-90 George J. Karb 1891-94 Cotton H. Allen 1895-96 Samuel L. Black 1897-98 Samuel J. Swartz 1899-1900 John N. Hinkle 1901-02 Robert H. Jeffrey 1903-05 De Witt C. Badger 1906-07 Charles Anson Bond 1908-09 George S. Marshall 1910-11 George J. Karb 1912-19 James J. Thomas 1920-31 Henry William Worley 1932-35 Myron B. Gessaman 1936-39 Floyd F. Green 1940-43 James A. Rhodes 1944-52 Robert T. Oestreicher 1953 Maynard E. Sensenbrenner 1954-59 Ralston Westlake 1960-63 Maynard E. Sensenbrenner 1964-71 Tom Moody 1972-83 Dana G. Rinehart 1984-91 Gregory S. Lashutka 1992-99 Michael B. Coleman 2000-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1901 Apr 2: John N. Hinkle (Dem), elected.
  • 1983: Dana G. Rinehart, elected.
  • 1987: Dana G. Rinehart, elected.
  • 1999: Michael B. Coleman, elected.
  • 2003 Nov 4: Michael B. Coleman, elected unopposed.
  • 2007: Michael B. Coleman, elected.
  • 2011 Nov 8: Michael B. Coleman, elected.

    Postmasters at Columbus, 1813-1973 (may be incomplete!)
    Matthew Matthews 1813-14 Joel Buttles 1814-29 Bela Latham 1829-41 John G. Miller 1841-43 Jacob Medary 1843-47 Samuel Medary 1847-49 Aaron F. Perry 1849-53 Thomas Sparrow 1853-57 Thomas Ewing Miller 1857-58 Samuel Medary 1858 Thomas Ewing Miller 1858-60 Joseph Dowdall 1860-61 John Graham 1861-65 Julius J. Wood 1865-70 James M. Comly 1870-77 Andrew D. Rodgers 1877-82 Lorenzo D. Myers 1882-86 DeWitt C. Jones 1886-90 Andrew Gardner, Jr. 1890-94 Fernando M. Leuter 1894-98 Robert M. Rownd 1898-1906 Harry W. Krumm 1906-14 Samuel A. Kinnear 1914-22 Fred H. Tibbetts 1922-23 Fred H. Tibbetts 1923-28 James R. Geren 1928 James R. Geren 1928-33 Nathan A. McCoy, Jr. 1933-34 Nathan A. McCoy, Jr. 1934-48 John W. Guy 1948-49 Allen M. Rowe 1949-63 Victor J. G. Bodish 1963 Victor J. G. Bodish 1963-73

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/columbus.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]