The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Cleveland, Ohio
including West Cleveland
Mayors, City Managers, Postmasters

Mayors of Cleveland, 1836-2018 (may be incomplete!)
John W. Willey 1836-37 Joshua Mills 1838-39 Nicholas Dockstader 1840 John W. Allen 1841 Joshua Mills 1842 Nelson Hayward 1843 Samuel Starkweather 1844-45 George Hoadley 1846 Josiah A. Harris 1847 Lorenzo A. Kelsey 1848 Flavel W. Bingham 1849 William Case 1850-51 Abner Brownell 1852-54 William B. Castle 1855-56 Samuel Starkweather 1857-58 George B. Senter 1859-60 Edward Sherrill Flint 1861-62 Irvine Masters 1863-64 George B. Senter 1864 Herman M. Chapin 1865-66 Stephen Buhrer 1867-70 Frederic Pelton 1871-72 Charles A. Otis 1873-74 Nathan P. Payne 1875-76 William G. Rose 1877-78 Rensselaer R. Herrick 1879-82 John H. Farley 1883-84 George W. Gardner 1885-86 Brenton D. Babcock 1887-88 George W. Gardner 1889-90 William G. Rose 1891-92 Robert Blee 1893-94 Robert E. McKisson 1895-98 John H. Farley 1899-1900 Tom L. Johnson 1901-09 Herman C. Baehr 1910-11 Newton D. Baker 1912-15 Harry L. Davis 1916-19 William Fitzgerald 1920-21 Frederick Kohler 1922-23 Clayton C. Townes 1924-25 John D. Marshall 1926-31 Harold H. Burton 1931-32 Ray T. Miller 1932-33 Harry L. Davis 1934-35 Harold H. Burton 1936-41 Edward Blythin 1941 Frank J. Lausche 1942-45 Thomas A. Burke 1946-53 Anthony J. Celebrezze 1954-61 Ralph S. Locher 1962-67 Carl B. Stokes 1968-71 Ralph J. Perk 1972-77 Dennis J. Kucinich 1978-79 George V. Voinovich 1980-89 Michael R. White 1990-2001 Jane L. Campbell 2002-05 Frank G. Jackson 2005-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1840: Joshua Mills, defeated.
  • 1841: Joshua Mills, defeated.
  • 1867: Stephen Buhrer (Dem), elected.
  • 1869: Stephen Buhrer (Dem), elected.
  • 1871: Stephen Buhrer (Dem), defeated.
  • 1872: Charles A. Otis (Dem), elected.
  • 1892: William Joseph Akers (Rep), defeated.
  • 1895 Apr 5: Robert E. McKisson (Rep), elected.
  • 1901 Apr 2: Tom L. Johnson, elected; William Joseph Akers (Rep), defeated.
  • 1909: Herman C. Baehr (Rep), elected.
  • 1911: C. E. Ruthenberg (Socialist), defeated; Frank G. Hogan, defeated.
  • 1915: C. E. Ruthenberg (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1917: C. E. Ruthenberg (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1919: C. E. Ruthenberg, defeated.
  • 1932: Daniel E. Morgan, defeated.
  • 1933: Martin L. Sweeney, defeated for nomination.
  • 1941: Martin L. Sweeney, defeated for nomination.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Thomas A. Burke (Dem), elected; Franklin Polk, defeated.
  • 1953 Nov 3: Anthony J. Celebrezze (Dem), elected; William J. McDermott (Rep), defeated.
  • 1965: Carl B. Stokes, defeated.
  • 1967: Seth C. Taft, defeated.
  • 1969: Ralph J. Perk (Rep), defeated.
  • 1971: George V. Voinovich (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1971: Ralph J. Perk, elected.
  • 1973: Ralph J. Perk, elected.
  • 1975: Ralph J. Perk, elected; Arthur R. Pinkney, defeated.
  • 1977: Edward F. Feighan, nominated; Dennis J. Kucinich, nominated; Ralph J. Perk, defeated in primary.
  • 1977: Edward F. Feighan, defeated; Dennis J. Kucinich, elected.
  • 1979: Dennis J. Kucinich, defeated; George V. Voinovich, elected.
  • 1985: Gary Kucinich, defeated.
  • 1989: Michael R. White, elected.
  • 1993: Michael R. White, elected.
  • 1997: Michael R. White, elected.

    City Managers of Cleveland, 1924-31 (may be incomplete!)
    W. R. Hopkins 1924-30 Daniel E. Morgan 1930-31

    Postmasters at Cleveland, 1805-1966 (may be incomplete!)
    Elisha Norton 1805 John Walworth 1806-12 Ashbel W. Walworth 1812-16 Daniel Kelley 1816-17 Irad Kelley 1817-29 Daniel Worley 1829-39 Aaron Barker 1839-42 Benjamin Andrews 1842-45 Timothy P. Spencer 1845-49 Daniel M. Haskell 1849-53 Joseph W. Gray 1853-58 Benjamin Harrington 1858-61 Edwin Cowles 1861-65 George A. Benedict 1865-70 John W. Allen 1870-75 Nelson B. Sherwin 1875-83 Thomas Jones, Jr. 1883-87 William W. Armstrong 1887-91 Alfred T. Anderson 1891-95 John C. Hutchins 1895-99 Charles C. Dewstoe 1899-1910 Raymond G. Floyd 1910-14 William J. Murphy 1914-22 Grant B. Miller 1922-23 Henry A. Taylor 1923-33 Michael F. O'Donnell 1933-34 Michael F. O'Donnell 1934-43 James L. Collins 1943-44 James L. Collins 1944 Joseph P. Nolan 1944-45 Guy R. Lucas 1945-49 Joseph F. Prosser 1949-50 Joseph F. Prosser 1950-54 Joseph S. Frantz 1954 Joseph S. Frantz 1954-61 Ralph H. Bushman 1961 Nelson E. Sundermeier 1961-64 Nelson E. Sundermeier 1964-66

    West Cleveland
    (annexed to Cleveland in 1890s)

    Mayors of West Cleveland, 1889 (may be incomplete!)
    William J. White as of 1889

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/cleveland.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]