The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Cincinnati, Ohio
Mayors, Postmasters, U.S. Land Office officials

Mayors of Cincinnati, 1802-2009 (may be incomplete!)
David Ziegler 1802-03 James Findlay as of 1805-06 James Findlay as of 1810-11 Martin Baum 1812 William Corry 1815-19 Isaac G. Burnet 1819-31 Elisha Hotchkiss 1831-33 Samuel W. Davies 1833-43 Henry E. Spencer 1843-51 Mark P. Taylor 1851-53 David T. Snelbaker 1853-55 James J. Faran 1855-57 Nicholas W. Thomas 1857-59 Richard M. Bishop 1859-61 George Hatch 1861-63 Leonard A. Harris 1863-66 Charles F. Wilstach 1866-69 John F. Torrence 1869-71 S. S Davis 1871-73 George W. C. Johnston 1873-77 Robert M. Moore 1877-79 Charles Jacob, Jr. 1879-81 William F. Means 1881-83 Thomas J. Stephens 1883-85 Amor Smith, Jr. 1885-89 John B. Mosby 1889-94 John A. Caldwell 1894-97 Gustav Tafel 1897-1900 Julius Fleischmann 1900-05 Edward J. Dempsey 1906-07 Leopold Markbreit 1908-09 John Galvin 1909 Louis Schwab 1910-11 Henry T. Hunt 1912-13 Frederick S. Spiegel 1914-15 George Puchta 1916-17 John Galvin 1918-21 George Carrel 1922-25 Murray Seasongood 1926-29 Russell Wilson 1930-37 James G. Stewart 1938-47 Carl W. Rich 1947 Albert D. Cash 1948-51 Carl W. Rich 1951-53 Edward N. Waldvogel 1953-54 Dorothy N. Dolbey 1954 Carl W. Rich 1954 Charles P. Taft 1955-57 Donald D. Clancy 1957-60 Walton H. Bachrach 1960-67 Eugene P. Ruehlmann 1967-71 Willis D. Gradison, Jr. 1971 Thomas A. Luken 1971-72 Theodore M. Berry 1972-75 Bobbie L. Sterne 1975-76 James T. Luken 1976-77 Jerry Springer 1977-78 Bobbie L. Sterne 1978-79 Ken Blackwell 1979-80 David S. Mann 1980-82 Thomas B. Brush 1982-83 Arnold L. Bortz 1983-84 Charles J. Luken 1984-91 David S. Mann 1991 Dwight Tillery 1991-93 Roxanne Qualls 1993-99 Charles J. Luken 1999-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1871: Leonard A. Harris, defeated.
  • 1900: Alfred M. Cohen (Dem), defeated.
  • 1909 Jul 27: Leopold Markbreit, died in office.
  • 1947 Mar 5: James G. Stewart, resigned.
  • 1954 May 7: Edward N. Waldvogel, died in office.
  • 1971 Apr 6: Eugene P. Ruehlmann, resigned.
  • 2001: Charles J. Luken (Dem), elected; Courtis Fuller (Charter), defeated.
  • 2005 Sep 13: David Pepper, nominated; Mark Mallory, nominated; Charlie Winburn, defeated in primary; Alicia Reece, defeated in primary; Justin Jeffre, defeated in primary; Sylvan Grisco, defeated in primary; Sandra Queen Noble, defeated in primary.
  • 2005 Nov 8: Mark Mallory, elected; David Pepper, defeated.
  • 2009: Brad Wenstrup, defeated.

    Postmasters at Cincinnati, 1794-1979 (may be incomplete!)
    Abner Martin Dunn 1794-95 William Maxwell 1795-97 Daniel Mayo 1797-98 William Ruffin 1798-1814 William Burke 1814-41 William H. Harrison Taylor 1841-45 George Crawford 1845-49 William Oliver 1849-52 James C. Hall 1852-53 John L. Vattier 1853-58 James J. Faran 1858-59 John L. Vattier 1859-61 John C. Baum 1861-64 Frederic John Mayer 1864-66 William H. Harrison Taylor 1866-67 Calvin W. Thomas 1867-69 Thomas H. Foulds 1869-74 Gustav R. Wahle 1874-78 John P. Loge 1878-82 Smith A. Whitfield 1882-86 John C. Riley 1886-91 John Zumstein 1891-95 Charles Edgar Brown 1895-99 Elias R. Monfort 1899-1914 John L. Shuff 1914-16 Joel C. Clore 1916-22 Arthur L. Behymer 1922 Arthur L. Behymer 1922-33 Charles J. Bocklet 1933-34 Charles J. Bocklet 1934-53 Hobart A. Wehking 1953-54 Hobart A. Wehking 1954-63 Joseph J. Scanlon 1963-64 Joseph J. Scanlon 1964-79

    Registers of U.S. Land Office at Cincinnati, 1802-16 (may be incomplete!)
    Israel Ludlow as of 1802 Daniel Symmes as of 1816

    Receivers of U.S. Land Office at Cincinnati, 1802-16 (may be incomplete!)
    James Findlay as of 1802-16

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/cincinnati.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]