The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Alliance, Ohio

Mayors of Alliance, 1937-55 (may be incomplete!)
Guy E. Allott as of 1937 Harley R. Ewing as of 1950-55

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1949 Nov 8: Harley R. Ewing (Rep), elected.

    Postmasters at Alliance, 1851-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    David G. Hester 1851-53 Robert N. Buck 1853-54 Augustus Kerr 1854-55 Thomas Beer 1855-58 Harvey Laughlin 1858-61 David G. Hester 1861-66 Wilson S. Culbertson 1866-67 Humphrey Hoover 1867-68 Henry Shreve 1868-76 Joseph W. Gillespie 1876-81 J. Kirk Allen 1881-89 Harper Brosius 1889-93 John C. Devine 1893-97 Benjamin F. Trescott 1897-1906 Edwin Morgan 1906-14 Franzo D. Miller 1914-23 Charles C. Shaffer 1923-35 Carl L. Greenamyer 1935 Franzo D. Miller 1935-38 Carl L. Greenamyer 1938-39 Carl A. Rickard 1939-54 Richard J. Gamble 1954-56 Richard J. Gamble 1956-64 Chalmer H. Smith 1964 Chalmer H. Smith 1964-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/alliance.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]