The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Watertown, New York

Mayors of Watertown, 1879-1959 (may be incomplete!)
Denis O'Brien 1879-80 Nelson Burdick as of 1882-83 James B. Wise as of 1896 Francis M. Hugo as of 1911 Isaac R. Breen as of 1915-16 Robert E. Cahill as of 1920-21 John B. Harris as of 1925-35 David D. Kieff as of 1936-39 Charles A. Winslow 1940-47 Henry A. Hudson as of 1948-49 John H. Newman 1952-55 William G. Lachenauer as of 1956-59

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1884: William S. Carlisle (Dem), defeated.
  • 1903 Nov 3: Charles D. Bingham (Rep), elected; Florentine D. Roth (Dem), defeated; Albert M. Peltier (Social Democratic), defeated; Fred V. Bush (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1911 Nov 7: Francis M. Hugo (Rep), elected.
  • 1915 Nov 2: Isaac R. Breen (Rep), elected.
  • 1927 Nov 8: John B. Harris, elected.
  • 1935 Nov 5: David D. Kieff, elected.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Charles A. Winslow, elected.
  • 1943 Nov 2: Charles A. Winslow, elected.
  • 1951 Nov 6: John H. Newman, elected.
  • 1955 Nov 8: William G. Lachenauer, elected.
  • 1959 Nov 3: William G. Lachenauer, elected.

    Postmasters at Watertown, 1804-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    Henry Coffin 1804-06 Joseph Clark 1806-11 Paul Hutchinson 1811-16 Henry H. Sherwood 1816-22 Daniel Lee 1822-29 Alpheus S. Greene 1829-40 Alvin Hunt 1840-41 John F. Hutchinson 1841-45 Pearson Mundy 1845-49 Philo S. Johnson 1849-53 William H. Sigourney 1853-61 Levi Smith 1861-70 William G. Williams 1870-74 Alexander Campbell 1874 William G. Williams 1874-82 Edward M. Gates 1882-86 John C. Streeter 1886-89 Edward M. Gates 1889-93 Charles W. Clare 1893-97 DeWitt C. Middleton 1897-1900 Robert J. Buck 1900-11 Bruce F. Martin 1911-15 A. Raymond Cornwall 1915-24 George A. Hager 1924-36 Francis J. McCarthy 1936 Francis J. McCarthy 1936-47 William L. Farley 1948-50 William L. Farley 1950-57 Harry C. Hager 1957 Harry C. Hager 1957-65 Walter F. Brady 1965-67 Walter F. Brady 1967-71

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1947 Aug 14: Francis J. McCarthy, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/watertown.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]