The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Syracuse, New York
including Salina
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Syracuse, 1848-2018 (may be incomplete!)
Harvey Baldwin 1848 Elias W. Leavenworth 1849 Alfred H. Hovey 1850 Horace Wheaton 1851 Jason Cooper Woodruff 1852-53 Dennis McCarthy 1853 Allen Munroe 1854 Lyman Stevens 1855 Charles Ferre Williston 1856-57 William Winton 1858 Elias W. Leavenworth 1859 Amos Westcott 1860 Charles Andrews 1861-62 Daniel Bookstaver 1863 Archibald Campbell Powell 1864 William Davenport Stewart 1865-67 Charles Andrews 1868 Charles Parsons Clark 1869-70 Francis Edward Carroll 1871-72 William James Wallace 1873 Nathan Fitch Graves 1874 George Philip Hier 1875 John J. Crouse 1876 James J. Belden 1877-78 Irving G. Vann 1879 Francis Hendricks 1880-81 John Demong 1882 Thomas Ryan 1883-85 Willis B. Burns 1886-87 William B. Kirk III 1888-89 William Cowle 1890-91 Jacob Amos 1892-95 James K. McGuire 1896-1901 Jay Butler Kline 1902-03 Alan C. Fobes 1904-09 Edward Schoeneck 1910-13 Louis Will 1914-15 Walter R. Stone 1916-19 Harry H. Farmer 1920-21 John H. Walrath 1922-25 Charles G. Hanna 1926-29 Rolland B. Marvin 1930-41 Thomas E. Kennedy 1942-45 Frank J. Costello 1946-49 Thomas J. Corcoran 1950-53 Donald H. Mead 1954-57 A. A. Henninger 1958-61 William F. Walsh 1962-69 Lee Alexander 1970-85 Thomas G. Young 1986-93 Roy Bernardi 1994-2001 Matthew J. Driscoll 2001-09 Stephanie A. Miner 2010-17 Ben Walsh 2018-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1853 Mar 1: Dennis McCarthy (Dem), elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: Edward Schoeneck (Rep), elected.
  • 1915 Nov 2: Walter R. Stone (Rep), elected.
  • 1921 Nov 8: John H. Walrath (Dem), elected.
  • 1923 Nov 6: John H. Walrath (Dem), elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: Charles G. Hanna (Rep), elected.
  • 1927 Nov 8: Charles G. Hanna (Rep), elected.
  • 1929 Nov 5: Rolland B. Marvin (Rep), elected.
  • 1931: Francis D. McCurn (Dem), defeated.
  • 1933 Nov 7: Rolland B. Marvin (Rep), elected.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Rolland B. Marvin (Rep), elected.
  • 1937 Nov 2: Rolland B. Marvin (Rep), elected.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Thomas J. Corcoran (Dem), elected.
  • 1953 Nov 3: Donald H. Mead (Rep), elected.
  • 2001 Jul 10: Roy Bernardi, resigned.
  • 2013 Nov 5: Stephanie A. Miner (Dem), elected; Ian Hunter (Conservative), defeated; Kevin Bott (Green), defeated.
  • 2017: Howie Hawkins (Green), defeated.

    Village Presidents of Syracuse, 1839-47 (may be incomplete!)
    Elias W. Leavenworth 1839-41 Elias W. Leavenworth 1846-47

    Postmasters at Syracuse, 1820-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    John Wilkinson 1820-40 Jonas Earll, Jr. 1840-42 Henry Raynor 1842-45 William W. Teall 1845-49 William Jackson 1849-53 Henry J. Sedgwick 1853-61 Patrick H. Agan 1861-66 George L. Maynard 1866-71 Dwight H. Bruce 1871-75 Austin C. Chase 1875-84 James M. Gilbert 1884-88 Milton H. Northrup 1888-89 Carroll E. Smith 1889-93 Milton H. Northrup 1893-97 Dwight H. Bruce 1897-1908 William Foure 1908-13 John J. Kesel 1913-22 James McLusky 1922-33 Edmund L. Weston 1933-34 Edmund L. Weston 1934-41 Cornelius J. Nugent 1941 Cornelius J. Nugent 1941-46 Myron J. Parkinson 1946-47 Myron J. Parkinson 1947-63 George Sommers 1963 Anthony F. Caffrey 1963-64 Anthony F. Caffrey 1964-68 Lawrence T. Ryan 1968-69 Thomas DeYulia 1969-71

    (merged with Syracuse 1848)

    Postmasters at Salina, 1836 (may be incomplete!)
    Erasmus Stone as of 1836

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/syracuse.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]