The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Seneca Falls, New York
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Seneca Falls, 1935-59 (may be incomplete!)
Francis J. Souhan as of 1935-38 G. Kenneth Wayne as of 1940 Victor C. Mount as of 1941-42 Paul B. Fredenburgh as of 1943-44 John B. Souhan as of 1947 Fred L. Huntington as of 1951-53 William J. Cousin as of 1953 John D. Compson as of 1955-56 Harry Weart as of 1959

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1937: Francis J. Souhan (Dem), elected.

    Village Presidents of Seneca Falls, 1910-13 (may be incomplete!)
    Augustus S. Hughes 1910-13

    Postmasters at Seneca Falls, 1836-1947 (may be incomplete!)
    John Morgan as of 1836 Stephen Weatherlow as of 1881-87 Jasper N. Hammond 1888-92 Charles T. Andrews 1892-95 Henry Stowell 1895-99 Harry M. Glen 1899-1901 Pryce W. Bailey as of 1915 Augustus S. Hughes as of 1916-21 William H. Savage as of 1928 William A. Flanagan as of 1937 Thomas J. Riley as of 1943-47

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/senecafalls.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]