The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Rochester, New York

Mayors of Rochester, 1834-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Jonathan Child 1834-35 Jacob Gould 1835-36 Abraham M. Schermerhorn 1837 Thomas Kempshall 1837 Elisha Johnson 1838 Thomas H. Rochester 1839 Samuel G. Andrews 1840 Elijah F. Smith 1841 Charles J. Hill 1842 Isaac Hills 1843 John Allen 1844 William Pitkin 1845-46 John B. Elwood 1847 Joseph Field 1848 Levi A. Ward 1849 Samuel Richardson 1850 Nicholas E. Paine 1851 Hamlin Stillwell 1852-53 John Williams 1853 Maltby Strong 1854 Charles J. Hayden 1855 Samuel G. Andrews 1856 Rufus Keeler 1857 Charles H. Clark 1858 Samuel W. D. Moore 1859 Hamlet D. Scrantom 1860 John C. Nash 1861 Michael Filon 1862 Nehemiah C. Bradstreet 1863 James Brackett 1864 Daniel D. T. Moore 1865 Samuel W. D. Moore 1866 Henry L. Fish 1867-68 Edward M. Smith 1869 John Lutes 1870 Charles W. Briggs 1871 A. Carter Wilder 1872-73 George G. Clarkson 1874-75 Cornelius R. Parsons 1876-87 William Carroll as of 1892 George W. Aldridge as of 1894 George E. Warner as of 1896 George A. Carnahan as of 1900-01 Adolph J. Rodenbeck as of 1902-03 James G. Cutler as of 1904-07 Hiram H. Edgerton 1908-21 Clarence D. Van Zandt 1922-26 Martin B. O'Neil 1926-27 Joseph C. Wilson 1927-30 Isaac Adler 1930-31 Charles S. Owen 1932-33 Percival D. Oviatt 1933 Charles Stanton 1934-37 Lester B. Rapp 1938 Samuel B. Dicker 1939-55 Peter Barry 1955-59 Henry E. Gillette 1962-63 Frank T. Lamb 1964-69 Stephen May 1970 William A. Johnson, Jr. as of 1994-2003

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1835 Jul 2: Jonathan Child, resigned.
  • 1837 Mar 7: Abraham M. Schermerhorn, resigned.
  • 1853 Mar 1: John Williams (Dem), elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: Hiram H. Edgerton (Rep), elected.
  • 1914: George C. Staud (Dem), defeated.
  • 1915 Nov 2: Hiram H. Edgerton (Rep), elected.
  • 1921: Clarence D. Van Zandt (Rep), elected; Frederick D. Lamb (Dem), defeated.
  • 1923 Nov 6: Clarence D. Van Zandt (Rep), elected; Frederick D. Lamb (Dem), defeated; John W. Dennis (Socialist), defeated; Franklin W. Bock (Ind), defeated.
  • 1925 Nov 3: Clarence D. Van Zandt (Rep), elected.
  • 1926 Jun 17: Clarence D. Van Zandt, died in office.
  • 1930 Mar 5: Joseph C. Wilson, died in office.
  • 1933 Apr 28: Charles S. Owen, resigned; Percival D. Oviatt, appointed.
  • 1938 Dec 31: Lester B. Rapp, resigned.
  • 1939 Jan 10: Samuel B. Dicker, appointed.
  • 1955 Jun 14: Samuel B. Dicker, resigned.
  • 1993: William A. Johnson, Jr., elected.
  • 1997: William A. Johnson, Jr., elected.
  • 2013 Nov 5: Lovely Ann Warren (Dem), elected; Thomas Richards (Working Families), defeated; Alex White (Green), defeated.

    Postmasters at Rochester, 1829-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    John B. Elwood 1829-38 Henry O'Reilly 1838-42 Samuel G. Andrews 1842-46 Henry Campbell 1846-49 Darius Perrin 1849-53 Hubbard S. Allis 1853-58 Nicholas E. Paine 1858-61 Scott W. Updike 1861-67 John W. Stebbins 1867-71 Edward M. Smith 1871-75 Daniel T. Hunt 1875-87 Valentine Fleckenstein 1887-90 John A. Reynolds 1890-94 George H. Perkins 1894-98 James S. Graham 1898-1907 W. Seward Whittlesey 1907-11 Joseph A. Crane 1911-14 William A. Buckley 1914-17 George C. Staud 1917-21 John B. Mullan 1921-22 John B. Mullan 1922-30 Adolph M. Spiehler 1930-34 William J. Hunt 1934-35 William J. Hunt 1935-41 Donald A. Dailey 1941 Donald A. Dailey 1941-53 John S. Cain 1953 Louis B. Cartwright 1953-54 Louis B. Cartwright 1954-62 John G. Bittner 1962-63 John G. Bittner 1963-69

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/rochester.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]