The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Plattsburgh, New York

Mayors of Plattsburgh, 1902-2015 (may be incomplete!)
Albert J. Sharron 1902-03 William J. McCaffrey 1904-05 Romeo E. Hyde 1906-07 Joseph Payette 1907 Elmer E. Botsford 1907 William B. Moores 1908-09 Andrew G. Senecal 1910-11 William H. Goff 1912-15 William B. Moores 1916-17 Charles A. Barnard 1918-21 Merritt Spear 1922-23 William E. Cross 1924-25 John H. McGaulley 1926-31 Leander A. Bouyea 1932-43 Merritt Spear 1944-45 John J. Tyrell 1946-47 Horace F. Davies 1948-49 John J. Tyrell 1950-65 Francis D. Steltzer 1966-71 Roland St. Pierre 1972-77 John L. Ianelli 1978-81 Carlton E. Rennell 1982-89 Clyde M. Rabideau, Jr. 1990-99 Daniel L. Stewart 2000-06 John E. Stewart 2006 Donald M. Kasprzak 2007-13 James E. Calnon 2014-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1909 Nov 2: Andrew G. Senecal (Dem), elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: Andrew G. Senecal (Dem), elected.
  • 1921 Nov 8: Merritt Spear (Rep), elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: William E. Cross (Dem), elected.
  • 1927 Nov 8: John H. McGaulley (Dem), elected.
  • 1929 Nov 5: John H. McGaulley (Dem), elected.
  • 1933 Nov 7: Leander A. Bouyea (Dem & Rep), elected.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Leander A. Bouyea (Dem), elected.
  • 1937 Nov 2: Leander A. Bouyea (Dem & Rep), elected.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Leander A. Bouyea (Dem), elected.
  • 1943 Nov 2: Merritt Spear (Rep), elected.
  • 1949 Nov 8: John J. Tyrell (Dem), elected.
  • 1951 Nov 6: John J. Tyrell (Dem), elected.
  • 1955 Nov 8: John J. Tyrell (Dem), elected.
  • 1959 Nov 3: John J. Tyrell (Dem), elected.

    Postmasters at Plattsburgh, 1797-1973 (may be incomplete!)
    Charles Z. Platt 1797-98 Eleazer Miller 1798-1804 Caleb Nicholls 1804-14 John Lynde 1814-31 Henry K. Averill 1831-41 Levi Platt 1841-49 Levi Platt, Jr. 1849-53 Charles S. Mooers 1853-57 William Pitt Platt 1857-61 Levi Platt, Jr. 1861-69 Harry S. Ransom 1869-85 Ransom R. Grant 1885-89 Abram W. Lansing 1889-93 John Crowley 1893-97 Frank F. Hathaway 1897-1901 Ernest J. Robinson 1901-09 William B. Mooers 1909-14 Andrew G. Senecal 1914-23 Dennis Lamarche 1923-33 John H. McGaulley 1933-34 Robert P. Dumas 1934-35 Robert P. Dumas 1935-36 Arthur Sharron 1936-37 Arthur Sharron 1937-58 Horace F. Davies 1958-60 Horace F. Davies 1960-73

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/plattsburgh.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]