The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Oswego, New York
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Oswego, 1848-1959 (may be incomplete!)
James Platt 1848 De Witt C. Littlejohn 1849 Leander Babcock 1850 Samuel R. Beardsley 1851 John Thurman 1852 James D. Colver 1853-54 De Witt C. Littlejohn 1855 Lucius B. Crocker 1856-58 Henry Fitzhugh 1859-61 Daniel G. Fort 1862 Lathrop A. G. B. Grant 1863-64 William H. Herrick 1865 Maxwell B. Richardson 1866 Simeon Bates 1867 Charles North 1868 Alanson S. Page 1869-72 Albertus Perry 1873 Benjamin Doolittle 1874 William A. Poucher 1875-76 Edwin Allen 1877 John D. Higgins as of 1896 John Fitzgibbons 1910-11 Thomas F. Hennessey as of 1915-16 John Fitzgibbons 1918-21 M. Prouse Neal 1922-25 Daniel H. Conway 1926-31 John F. Otis 1932-33 Richard G. Cullivan 1934-37 Willard J. Hall 1938-41 John J. Scanlon 1942-43 Joseph T. McCaffrey 1944-47 Frank L. Gould 1948-53 Robert G. Iles 1954-56 Vincent A. Corsall as of 1959

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1909 Nov 2: John Fitzgibbons (Dem), elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: David D. Long (Rep), elected.
  • 1921 Nov 8: M. Prouse Neal (Rep), elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: Daniel H. Conway (Rep), elected.
  • 1927 Nov 8: Daniel H. Conway (Rep), elected.
  • 1929 Nov 5: Daniel H. Conway (Rep), elected.
  • 1933 Nov 7: Richard G. Cullivan (Rep), elected.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Richard G. Cullivan (Rep), elected.
  • 1937 Nov 2: Willard J. Hall (Rep), elected; John F. Otis (Dem), defeated.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Willard J. Hall (Rep), elected.
  • 1943 Nov 2: Joseph T. McCaffrey (Rep), elected.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Frank L. Gould (Ind), elected.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Robert G. Iles (Rep), elected.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Ralph Shapiro (Dem), elected.

    Village Presidents of Oswego, 1828-47 (may be incomplete!)
    Alvin Bronson 1828 Daniel Hugunin 1829 Theophilus S. Morgan 1830 Edward Bronson 1831 Matthew McNair 1832 John Grant, Jr. 1833-34 Daniel W. Cole 1835 George H. McWhorter 1836 David P. Brewster 1837 James Platt 1838 Luther Wright 1839 Abraham A. Prall 1840 Luther Wright 1841 Abraham A. Prall 1842 George H. McWhorter 1843 James Platt 1844-46 De Witt C. Littlejohn 1847

    Postmasters at Oswego, 1806-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    Joel Burt 1806-15 William Dolloway 1815-16 Nathan Sage 1816-25 John Grant, Jr. 1825-31 Samuel Hawley 1831-39 John H. Lord 1839-41 James Cochran 1841-45 David P. Brewster 1845-49 Robert H. Martin 1849 Cheney Ames 1849-53 Samuel R. Beardsley 1853-58 Alfred B. Getty 1858-61 Henry Fitzhugh 1861-65 Aaron J. Cowles 1865-66 Samuel R. Taylor 1866-67 David W. Erwin 1867-69 George Hugunin 1869-73 John A. Place 1873-77 Cheney Ames 1877-81 Charles R. Parkinson 1881-86 John A. Barry 1886-90 John A. Place 1890-94 Louis C. Rowe 1894-98 John B. Alexander 1898-1915 William Nacey 1915-24 Ruth W. J. Mott 1924-36 James A. Kinney 1936-37 James H. Mackin 1937-53 Leonard T. Gadwood 1953-54 Leonard T. Gadwood 1954-68 Paul R. Miller 1968-69

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/oswego.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]