The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ossining, New York
including Sing Sing
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Ossining, 1940-59 (may be incomplete!)
Howard Dunscomb as of 1940-41 George W. Haddow as of 1942 George E. Giese as of 1951 Jesse A. Collyer, Jr. as of 1953-59

Village Presidents of Ossining, 1921-50 (may be incomplete!)
Edward B. Sherwood 1910 Milan E. Goodrich as of 1921-22 Albert W. Twiggar as of 1923 William H. Jackson as of 1927-35 Howard Dunscomb as of 1937-38 Thomas H. Barnes 1943-44 George E. Giese as of 1947-50

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1927 Mar 8: William H. Jackson (Rep), elected; Bernard Carlson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1929 Mar 12: William H. Jackson (Ind & Dem), elected; J. Harold Purdy (Rep), defeated.
  • 1931 Mar 10: William H. Jackson (Rep & Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1933 Mar 14: William H. Jackson (Rep), elected; Harry M. Carpenter (Dem), defeated.
  • 1934 Dec 11: William H. Jackson (Rep), elected; Terence J. Cornelis (Dem), defeated.
  • 1936 Dec 8: Howard Dunscomb (Rep), elected; E. B. Packard (Dem), defeated.
  • 1944 Dec 12: Vincent J. Fuller (Rep), elected; Thomas H. Barnes (Dem), defeated.
  • 1945 Dec 11: Edward J. McCormack (Dem), elected; Morton C. Hasbrouck (Rep), defeated.
  • 1948 Dec 14: George E. Giese (Rep), elected; John F. Halpin (Citizens Independent), defeated.
  • 1950 Nov 7: George E. Giese (Rep & Dem), elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at Ossining, 1901-77 (may be incomplete!)
    John McNally 1901-15 Francis Larkin 1915-23 James Owen 1923-24 James Owen 1924-36 Thomas A. Kenney 1936 Thomas A. Kenney 1936-53 Hazel C. Kenney 1953 Francis X. Hannigan 1953-54 Francis X. Hannigan 1954-77

    Sing Sing
    (renamed Ossining 1901)

    Village Presidents of Sing Sing, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    J. Edward Holla 1901

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1901 Mar 12: J. Edward Holla (Rep), elected; Seth G. Ellegood (Dem), defeated.

    Postmasters at Sing Sing, 1830-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Robert K. Foster 1830-37 George Sherwood 1837-41 George E. Stanton 1841-49 James W. Robinson 1849-53 Alfred Buckhout 1853-61 Reuben Quimby 1861-70 James Williamson 1870-82 Charles A. Fowler 1882 James Williamson 1882-85 W. Edgar Lawrence 1885-90 Edwin A. McAlpin 1890-91 John F. Jenkins 1891-94 John I. Kane 1894-98 John McNally 1898-1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/ossining.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]