The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Olean, New York

Mayors of Olean, 1894-1959 (may be incomplete!)
Nicholas V. V. Franchot 1894-98 Peter C. Foley 1910-11 William H. Simpson as of 1915 Foster Studholme 1916-19 Willis Z. Georgia 1920-21 Peter C. Foley 1922 George H. Pierce 1923-29 Earl C. Vedder 1930-31 Albert J. Carr 1932-33 Fred W. Forness, Jr. 1934-37 John E. McAuliffe 1938-39 Fred W. Forness, Jr. 1940-41 Walkerman D. Dugan 1942-43 Thomas A. Gustafson 1943-51 William N. Davis 1952-53 Thomas A. Gustafson 1954-55 Ivers J. Norton 1956-59

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1909 Nov 2: Peter C. Foley (Dem), elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: Peter C. Foley (Dem), elected.
  • 1915 Nov 2: Foster Studholme (Rep), elected.
  • 1917 Nov 6: Foster Studholme (Rep & Prohibition), elected; Peter C. Foley (Dem), defeated; Gaius C. Smith (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1919 Nov 4: Willis Z. Georgia (Rep), elected; Peter C. Foley (Dem), defeated; Gaius C. Smith (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1921 Nov 8: Peter C. Foley (Dem), elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: George H. Pierce (Rep), elected.
  • 1927 Nov 8: George H. Pierce (Rep), elected.
  • 1929 Nov 5: Earl C. Vedder (Rep), elected.
  • 1933 Nov 7: Fred W. Forness, Jr. (Dem), elected.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Fred W. Forness, Jr. (Dem), elected; Howard K. Jaekle (Rep), defeated; John G. Cooper (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1937 Nov 2: John E. McAuliffe (Rep), elected; Fred W. Forness, Jr. (Dem), defeated; John G. Cooper (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Fred W. Forness, Jr. (Dem), elected.
  • 1941 Nov 4: Walkerman D. Dugan (Rep & Dem), elected; John G. Cooper (American Labor), defeated.
  • 1943 Jan 2: Walkerman D. Dugan, resigned.
  • 1943 Feb 23: Thomas A. Gustafson (Rep), elected; James V. Rogers (Dem), defeated; John G. Cooper (American Labor), defeated.
  • 1943 Nov 2: Thomas A. Gustafson (Rep), elected; Fred W. Forness, Jr. (Dem), defeated; John G. Cooper (American Labor), defeated.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Thomas A. Gustafson (Rep), elected.
  • 1951 Nov 6: William N. Davis (Rep), elected.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Ivers J. Norton (Rep), elected; Raymond M. Haggerty, Sr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Ivers J. Norton (Rep & Dem), elected.

    Postmasters at Olean, 1817-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    Horatio Orton 1817-20 Sylvanus Russell 1820-24 Henry Bryan 1824-29 Darror Swain 1829-30 Frederic L. Martin 1830-39 David Day 1839-49 Olcott P. Boardman 1849-53 David Day 1853-57 Henry W. Fish 1857-61 Rufus L. Page 1861-70 James G. Johnson 1870-77 George N. Fobes 1877-78 Milton B. Fobes 1878-81 Wilson R. Page 1881-86 Calvin S. Stowell 1886-90 Wilson R. Page 1890-94 Frank L. Stowell 1894-98 George M. Mayer 1898-1910 Edward Troy 1910-15 Herbert D. Sibley 1915-24 Copeland E. Smith 1924-33 Dennis W. Keating 1933-34 Dennis W. Keating 1934-35 Margaret E. Keating 1935-36 Margaret E. Keating 1936-41 John Joseph Shortell 1941-52 James V. Rogers 1952-53 Donald R. Harvison 1953-54 Donald R. Harvison 1954-69

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/olean.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]