The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Ogdensburg, New York

Mayors of Ogdensburg, 1896-1959 (may be incomplete!)
Dennis B. Lucey as of 1896 George E. Van Kennen as of 1911 Julius Frank as of 1915-16 James E. Kelly as of 1920 Edward P. Lynch as of 1921-25 William E. Westbrook as of 1926-27 W. Allan Newell as of 1928-29 John A. Wert as of 1930-31 Ralph J. Morissette as of 1932-35 Fred J. Elie 1936-37 John J. Livingston 1938-39 Francis B. Burns 1940-44 Homer M. Wallace as of 1947 Max J. Miller as of 1948-49 Robert P. McDonald 1952-55 Lee W. Keyes as of 1956-59

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1910 Nov 8: George E. Van Kennen, elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: William E. Westbrook (Rep), elected.
  • 1927 Nov 8: W. Allan Newell (Rep), elected.
  • 1929 Nov 5: John A. Wert (Dem), elected.
  • 1933 Nov 7: Ralph J. Morissette (Rep), elected.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Fred J. Elie (Dem), elected.
  • 1937 Nov 2: John J. Livingston (Rep), elected; George J. Madden (Dem), defeated; William C. Blair (Ind), defeated.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Francis B. Burns (Dem), elected.
  • 1943 Nov 2: Francis B. Burns (Dem), elected.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Ralph J. Morissette (Rep), elected.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Robert P. McDonald (Dem), elected.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Lee W. Keyes (Rep), elected.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Francis B. Burns (Dem), elected.

    Postmasters at Ogdensburg, 1806-1975 (may be incomplete!)
    Jehiel Demock 1806-07 Louis Hasbrouck 1807-30 Ransom H. Gillet 1830-33 Preston King 1833-41 Platt B. Fairchild 1841-45 Joseph M. Doty 1845-47 Luke Baldwin 1847-49 George Robinson 1849-53 Luke Baldwin 1853-57 Thomas Bacon 1857-61 Robert Atcheson 1861-63 Roswell G. Pettibone 1863-72 Socrates N. Sherman 1872-73 Roswell G. Pettibone 1873-87 Willard M. Baird 1887-90 Alonzo A. Smith 1890-94 James E. Kelly 1894-98 Samuel H. Palmer 1898-1912 Lewis B. Leonard 1912 Charles D. Randles 1912-16 William W. Paige 1916-21 John Bentley 1921-34 Arthur J. Belgard 1934-35 Arthur J. Belgard 1935-49 Anna E. Williams 1949-51 Archibald G. McLellan 1951-57 Albert J. Paradis 1957 Frank LaVigne 1957-58 Frank LaVigne 1958-65 Carroll H. Belgard 1965-66 Carroll H. Belgard 1966-75

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1873 Feb 1: Socrates N. Sherman, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/ogdensburg.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]