The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Niagara Falls, New York
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Niagara Falls, 1896-1959 (may be incomplete!)
O. W. Cutler as of 1896 Anthony C. Douglass as of 1911 William Laughlin as of 1915 George W. Whitehead as of 1916 Maxwell M. Thompson as of 1920-21 William Laughlin as of 1925-31 Frank A. Jenss as of 1932-35 W. Levell Draper as of 1936-39 Ernest W. Mirrington, Jr. 1940-42 Eugene C. Butler 1942 Stephen A. Lamb 1943-47 William R. Lupton as of 1948-49 Ernest W. Mirrington, Jr. 1952-55 Calvin L. Keller 1956-59

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1927 Nov 8: William Laughlin (Dem & Rep), elected.
  • 1935 Nov 3: W. Levell Draper (Rep), elected.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Ernest W. Mirrington, Jr. (Rep), elected.
  • 1942 Jun 11: Ernest W. Mirrington, Jr., resigned.
  • 1942 Jun 22: Eugene C. Butler, appointed.
  • 1942 Nov 3: Stephen A. Lamb (Rep), elected.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Ernest W. Mirrington, Jr. (Rep), elected.
  • 1955 Sep 13: Anthony C. Sabatine (Dem), nominated; John T. DeSantis (Dem), defeated in primary; Charles Metzler (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1955 Sep 13: Calvin L. Keller (Rep), nominated; Augustine B. Maloney (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Calvin L. Keller (Rep), elected; Anthony C. Sabatine (Dem), defeated.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Calvin L. Keller (Rep), elected.

    Village Presidents of Niagara Falls, 1878 (may be incomplete!)
    Peter A. Porter as of 1878

    Postmasters at Niagara Falls, 1836-1947 (may be incomplete!)
    Augustus Porter as of 1836 William B. Rice as of 1881 Benjamin Rhodes as of 1887 Walter P. Horne as of 1897 Francis H. Salt 1898-1914 James Hulls 1914-16 George F. Diemer 1916 Robert H. Gittins 1916-17 Robert H. Gittins 1917-20 Edward T. Williams 1920-21 Frederick G. Newell 1921-34 Edward V. Canavan as of 1937 Thomas F. Gray as of 1943-47

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/niagarafalls.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]