The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Mt. Vernon, New York

Mayors of Mt. Vernon, 1892-2015 (may be incomplete!)
Edward F. Brush 1892-94 Edson Lewis 1894-96 Edwin W. Fiske 1896-1903 Edward F. Brush as of 1904-07 Edwin W. Fiske 1910-17 Edward F. Brush as of 1918-19 Elmer L. Kincaid as of 1920-21 William D. MacQuesten as of 1924-27 James Berg 1928-31 Leslie V. Bateman 1932-35 Denton Pearsall, Jr. as of 1936-39 William Hart Hussey 1940-51 Joseph P. Vaccarella 1952-59 P. Raymond Sirignano as of 1960-63 Joseph P. Vaccarella as of 1964-66

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1892 May 17: Edward F. Brush (Rep), elected; John Berry (Dem), defeated.
  • 1894 May 15: Edson Lewis (Rep), elected; Edwin W. Fiske (Dem), defeated.
  • 1896 May 10: Edwin W. Fiske (Dem), elected; William Archer (Rep), defeated.
  • 1898 May 17: Edwin W. Fiske (Dem), elected; Walter C. Reed (Rep), defeated.
  • 1900 May 15: Edwin W. Fiske (Dem), elected.
  • 1901 Nov 5: Edwin W. Fiske (Dem), elected; Edward F. Brush (Rep), defeated.
  • 1903 Nov 3: Edward F. Brush (Rep), elected.
  • 1905 Nov 7: Edward F. Brush (Ind), elected; William Archer (Rep), defeated; William D. Grant (Dem), defeated.
  • 1907 Nov 5: Benjamin Howe (Rep), elected.
  • 1909 Nov 2: Edwin W. Fiske (Dem), elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: Edwin W. Fiske (Dem), elected; George H. Taylor, Jr. (Rep), defeated.
  • 1913 Nov 4: Edwin W. Fiske (Dem), elected; James Berg (Rep), defeated; William D. Howe (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1915 Nov 2: Edwin W. Fiske (Dem), elected.
  • 1917: Edwin W. Fiske (Dem), defeated; Edward F. Brush, elected.
  • 1921 Nov 8: Edwin W. Fiske (Dem), elected.
  • 1923 Nov 6: William D. MacQuesten (Rep), elected; Edwin W. Fiske (Dem), defeated.
  • 1927: Clarence G. Martens (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1927 Nov 8: James Berg (Rep), elected; Edwin W. Fiske (Dem), defeated.
  • 1931: James Berg, resigned; Leslie V. Bateman (Dem), elected.
  • 1931 Sep 15: Leslie V. Bateman (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1931 Sep 15: Clarence G. Martens (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1935 Sep 17: Leslie V. Bateman (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1935 Sep 17: Denton Pearsall, Jr. (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Denton Pearsall, Jr. (Rep), elected; Leslie V. Bateman (Dem), defeated.
  • 1939 Sep 17: Ranson Caygill (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1939 Sep 19: William Hart Hussey (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1939 Sep 19: A. Berman (American Labor), nominated unopposed.
  • 1939 Nov 7: William Hart Hussey (Rep), elected; Ranson Caygill (Dem), defeated; A. Berman (American Labor), defeated.
  • 1943 Nov 2: William Hart Hussey (Rep), elected; Oscar L. Spears (Dem), defeated.
  • 1947 Nov 4: William Hart Hussey (Rep), elected; Michael I. Silverstein (Dem & Liberal), defeated.
  • 1951 Aug 21: Joseph P. Vaccarella (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1951 Aug 21: William Hart Hussey (Rep), nominated; Harold Ruscher (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1951 Aug 21: Joseph P. Vaccarella (Liberal), nominated unopposed.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Joseph P. Vaccarella (Dem & Liberal), elected; William Hart Hussey (Rep), defeated; Harold Ruscher (Ind), defeated.
  • 1955 Sep 13: Joseph P. Vaccarella (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1955 Sep 13: Elmer Hildreth (Rep), nominated; Harold Ruscher (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1955 Sep 13: Joseph P. Vaccarella (Liberal), nominated unopposed.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Joseph P. Vaccarella (Dem & Liberal), elected; Elmer Hildreth (Rep), defeated.
  • 1959 Nov 3: P. Raymond Sirignano (Rep), elected; Herbert W. Aronson (Dem & Liberal), defeated.
  • 1963 Nov 5: Joseph P. Vaccarella (Dem & Liberal), elected; P. Raymond Sirignano (Rep), defeated; Harry Krauss (Conservative), defeated.
  • 2015 Nov 3: Richard Thomas (Dem & Rep & Independence & Reform), elected; Ruth H. Thompson (Working Families), defeated; Ernest D. Davis, defeated; Deborah Reynolds (Conservative), defeated.

    Postmasters at Mt. Vernon, 1881-1947 (may be incomplete!)
    Andrew Bridgeman as of 1881 D. Quackinbush as of 1887 Clarence S. McClellan as of 1897 David O. Williams as of 1901 Stephen Van Tassel as of 1915-21 Sumter L. Happy as of 1928 Eugene S. Fiske as of 1937-47

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/mountvernon.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]