The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lindenhurst, New York
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Lindenhurst, 1927-2009 (may be incomplete!)
George W. Irmish 1927-29 Walter B. Wellbrock 1929-31 Charles Heling 1931-37 Walter B. Wellbrock 1937-41 John C. Blankenhorn 1941-47 Milton Turk 1947-51 Alex Jaeger, Jr. 1951-55 Joseph P. Spellerberg 1955-59 Joseph F. Bassano, Sr. 1959-61 Ernest D. Scott 1961-63 Lester I. Kahan 1963-65 Charles J. Cowan 1965-73 Thomas H. Kost 1973-75 Roy Mathison 1999-2000 Lynda Distler 2000-04 Tom Brennan 2004-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1929 Mar 19: Walter B. Wellbrock (Liberty), elected; George W. Irmish, defeated; Edward J. McGraw, defeated.
  • 1931 Mar 17: Charles Heling (Progressive), elected; Walter B. Wellbrock (Liberty), defeated.
  • 1933 Mar 21: Charles Heling (Progressive), elected; Walter B. Wellbrock (Liberty), defeated.
  • 1935 Mar 19: Charles Heling (Progressive), elected; Alfred L. Pfeiffer (Rep), defeated.
  • 1937 Mar 16: Walter B. Wellbrock (Liberty & Progressive), elected; Robert C. Kienle (Fusion), defeated; John C. Blankenhorn (People's), defeated.
  • 1939 Mar 21: Walter B. Wellbrock (Progressive), elected; Alfred L. Pfeiffer (People's), defeated.
  • 1941 Mar 18: John C. Blankenhorn (Rep & People's), elected; Walter B. Wellbrock (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1947: Milton Turk (Dem), elected; John C. Blankenhorn (Rep), defeated.
  • 1949 Mar 15: Milton Turk (Dem), elected; John C. Blankenhorn (Rep), defeated.
  • 1951 Mar 20: Alex Jaeger, Jr. (Rep), elected; Milton Turk (Dem), defeated.
  • 1953 Mar 17: Alex Jaeger, Jr. (Rep & Veterans-Citizens), elected; Otto Kost (Dem), defeated.
  • 1955 Mar 15: Joseph P. Spellerberg (Rep), elected; Otto Kost (Ind), defeated; Joseph F. Bassano, Sr. (Dem), defeated; Mark Weiss (Friendly People's), defeated.
  • 1957 Mar 19: Joseph P. Spellerberg (Rep), elected; Joseph F. Bassano, Sr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1959 Mar 17: Joseph F. Bassano, Sr. (Dem), elected; Ernest D. Scott (Rep & Veterans-Citizens), defeated.
  • 1961 Mar 21: Ernest D. Scott (Rep), elected; Joseph F. Bassano, Sr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1963 Mar 17: Lester I. Kahan (Dem), elected.
  • 1965 Mar 16: Charles J. Cowan (Rep), elected; Lester I. Kahan (Dem), defeated.
  • 1967 Mar 21: Charles J. Cowan (Rep), elected; Leonard J. Guyre (Dem), defeated; Robert E. Morton (Conservative), defeated.
  • 1969 Mar 18: Charles J. Cowan (Rep), elected; Joseph F. Bassano, Sr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1971 Mar 16: Charles J. Cowan (Rep), elected; Charles A. Scutero (Dem), defeated; Dennis J. Harty (Conservative), defeated.
  • 1973 Mar 20: Thomas H. Kost (Dem), elected; Charles J. Cowan (Rep), defeated.
  • 1975 Mar 18: Thomas H. Kost (Dem), elected; Nicholas J. LaBue (Rep & Conservative), defeated.
  • 2000 Mar 21: Lynda Distler (Rep & Conservative & Right To Life), elected; Betty Dean (Dem & Independence), defeated.
  • 2004 Mar 16: Tom Brennan (Rep & Independence), elected; Ray Doran (Dem), defeated.
  • 2008 Mar 18: Tom Brennan (Rep & Dem & Independence), elected unopposed.

    Village Presidents of Lindenhurst, 1923-27 (may be incomplete!)
    Gustave M. Hahn as of 1923 George W. Irmish 1927

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1927 Mar 15: George W. Irmish (Progressive), elected; Edward J. McGraw (Ind), defeated.

    Postmasters at Lindenhurst, 1897-1947 (may be incomplete!)
    George W. Irmish as of 1897 Frederick Toms, Sr. as of 1901 William F. Wild as of 1915-21 Clarence E. Hirsch as of 1928 Arthur Cosgrove as of 1937-47

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/lindenhurst.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]