The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Jamestown, New York

Mayors of Jamestown, 1896-1976 (may be incomplete!)
Eleazer Green as of 1896 Henry Cooper as of 1900 J. Emil Johnson as of 1901-06 James L. Weeks as of 1907-08 Samuel A. Carlson 1909-27 Lars A. Larson 1928-29 Samuel A. Carlson 1930-37 Leon F. Roberts 1934-35 Harry C. Erickson as of 1938-39 Leon F. Roberts 1940-41 Samuel A. Stroth as of 1942-49 Stanley A. Weeks 1952-53 Samuel A. Stroth 1954-55 Carl F. Sanford 1956-59 Frederick H. Dunn as of 1966 Stan Lundine as of 1969-76

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1906: Frank H. Mott (Citizens), defeated.
  • 1908: Samuel A. Carlson (Rep), elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: Samuel A. Carlson (Citizens), elected.
  • 1927 Nov 8: Lars A. Larson (Rep), elected; Samuel A. Carlson, defeated.
  • 1929 Nov 5: Samuel A. Carlson, elected.
  • 1931 Nov 3: Samuel A. Carlson, elected; Theodore N. Nelson, defeated; Gilbert L. Anderberg, defeated.
  • 1933 Nov 7: Leon F. Roberts (Rep), elected.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Samuel A. Carlson (Citizens), elected.
  • 1937 Nov 2: Harry C. Erickson (Good Government), elected; Leon F. Roberts (Progressive), defeated; Harry J. Holroyd (Citizens), defeated.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Leon F. Roberts (Progressive), elected.
  • 1943 Nov 2: Samuel A. Stroth, elected.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Samuel A. Stroth, elected.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Stanley A. Weeks, elected.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Carl F. Sanford (Greater Jamestown Party), elected; Samuel A. Stroth (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Carl F. Sanford, elected.

    Postmasters at Jamestown, 1816-1980 (may be incomplete!)
    James Prendergast 1816-24 Laban Hazeltine 1824-29 Elial T. Foote 1829-41 Alvin Plumb 1841-43 Joseph Kenyon 1843-44 Franklin H. Waite 1844-48 Eliphalet L. Tinker 1848-49 Smith Seymour 1849-53 Rufus Pier 1853-58 Charles L. Harris 1858-61 Robert V. Cunningham 1861-65 Abner Hazeltine 1865-69 Henry J. Yates 1869-73 Alexander M. Clark 1873-79 Adolphus B. Fletcher 1879-84 Edward P. Putnam 1884-85 Charles E. Weeks 1885-90 Lathrop L. Hanchett 1890-93 Palmer K. Shankland 1893-98 Emmett H. Bemus 1898-1902 James T. Larmouth 1902-11 Augustus F. Allen 1911-15 Henry Guenther 1915-24 Charles A. Sandburg 1924-34 Elloy R. Ganey 1934 Elloy R. Ganey 1934-50 Clinton H. Watson 1950-51 Richard C. Gifford 1951-55 Oliver K. Palm 1955-56 Oliver K. Palm 1956-60 Frank G. Shosenburg 1960-61 Raymond W. Gould 1961-63 Raymond W. Gould 1963-65 Frank G. Shosenburg 1965-66 Harry W. Johnson 1966-67 Harry W. Johnson 1967-80

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1950 Mar 21: Elloy R. Ganey, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/jamestown.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]