The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ithaca, New York
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Ithaca, 1896-1966 (may be incomplete!)
Leroy C. Todd as of 1896 William C. Elmendorf as of 1900-01 William R. Gunderman as of 1902 George W. Miller as of 1903-04 Bradford Almy as of 1905-06 Jared T. Newman as of 1907-08 Randolph Horton as of 1909-11 Thomas Tree as of 1915 Frederick E. Bates as of 1916 Edwin C. Stewart 1920-21 Louis P. Smith 1922 W. M. Sawdon as of 1925 Fred B. Howe as of 1926-29 Herman Bergholtz as of 1930-33 Louis P. Smith 1934-35 Joseph B. Myers as of 1936-39 Joseph Campbell 1940-41 Melvin G. Comfort as of 1942-44 James Conley 1946 Arthur N. Gibb 1946-47 Bert T. Baker as of 1948-49 Ivan E. Cook 1952-55 John F. Ryan 1956-59 Hunna Johns as of 1966

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1911 Nov 7: John Reamer (Dem), elected.
  • 1915 Nov 2: Frederick E. Bates (Rep), elected.
  • 1921 Jun 15: Edwin C. Stewart, died in office.
  • 1921 Nov 8: Louis P. Smith (Rep), elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: Fred B. Howe (Rep), elected.
  • 1927 Nov 8: Fred B. Howe (Rep & Dem), elected.
  • 1929 Nov 5: Herman Bergholtz (Dem), elected.
  • 1933 Nov 7: Louis P. Smith (Rep), elected.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Joseph B. Myers (Rep), elected.
  • 1937 Nov 2: Joseph B. Myers (Rep), elected.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Joseph Campbell (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1943 Nov 2: Melvin G. Comfort (Rep), elected.
  • 1946 Aug 30: James Conley, resigned.
  • 1946 Nov 5: Arthur N. Gibb (Rep), elected.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Lee H. Daniels (Dem), elected.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Ivan E. Cook (Rep), elected.
  • 1955 Sep 13: Ivan E. Cook (Rep), nominated; Nicholas P. Flores (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1955 Nov 8: John F. Ryan (Dem), elected; Ivan E. Cook (Rep), defeated; Nicholas P. Flores, defeated.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Ralph C. Smith (Rep), elected.

    Village Presidents of Ithaca, 1822-29 (may be incomplete!)
    Andrew De Witt Bruyn as of 1822 Charles Humphrey 1828-29

    Postmasters at Ithaca, 1805-1968 (may be incomplete!)
    Richard W. Pelton 1805-08 Marcus Stickney 1808-09 David Woodcock 1809-21 Robert J. Renwick 1821 Augustus Sherrill 1821-29 Jedediah Beebe 1829-33 Ebenezer Mack 1833-42 Francis A. Bloodgood 1842-43 Jacob M. McCormick 1843-48 Arthur S. Johnson 1848-49 Julius M. Ackley 1849-53 Arthur S. Johnson 1853-59 Obadiah B. Curran 1859-61 John H. Selkreg 1861-66 Anson Spencer 1866-67 William Glenny 1867-71 Marcus Lyon 1871-73 Henry H. Howe 1873-82 Eron C. Van Kirk 1882-85 Ward Gregory 1885-89 Edmund E. Robinson 1889-94 George W. Apgar 1894-98 Frank J. Enz 1898-1906 Leroy H. Van Kirk 1906-14 James Lynch 1914-16 B. Frank Lent 1916 B. Frank Lent 1916-21 Clarence D. Tarbell 1921-22 Clarence D. Tarbell 1922-32 Roscoe C. Van Marter 1932-34 Elwyn S. Sloughter 1934-35 Elwyn S. Sloughter 1935-53 Stanley C. Shaw 1953-54 Stanley C. Shaw 1954-68

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/ithaca.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]