The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Irvington, New York

Mayors of Irvington, 1929-2015 (may be incomplete!)
Matthew J. Murtha as of 1929 Duncan G. Smith as of 1947 Roswell H. Harriman as of 1957 Brian C. Smith 2011-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1929 Mar 19: Matthew J. Murtha (Dem), elected; Herbert E. Dickson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1949 Mar 15: William A. Murphy (Dem), elected.
  • 1951 Mar 20: F. Kramer (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1957 Mar 19: Roswell H. Harriman (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 2013 Nov 5: Brian C. Smith (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 2015 Nov 3: Brian C. Smith, elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at Irvington, 1854-1947 (may be incomplete!)
    Peter M. Warman 1854-56 Tellbroock W. Crisfield 1856-62 Charles A. Adams 1862-72 Charles H. Hauptman 1872-82 Charles H. Browne 1882-87 Samuel T. Kilpatrick 1887-91 John Harvey 1891-95 James A. Hall 1895-99 John F. Dinkel 1899-1903 Norman C. Templeton 1903-16 Matthew J. Murtha as of 1917-21 Joseph P. Fallon as of 1928 Joseph J. Reilly as of 1937-47

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/irvington.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]