The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Hudson, New York

Mayors of Hudson, 1785-1966 (may be incomplete!)
Seth Jenkins 1785-93 Thomas Jenkins 1793-1808 Robert Jenkins 1808-13 John Tallman 1813-15 Robert Jenkins 1815-20 John Tallman 1820-21 Alexander Coffin 1821-23 Rufus Reed 1823-24 Thomas Bay 1825-26 Oliver Wiswall 1827-28 Samuel White 1829 Samuel Anable 1830-32 Henry Smith 1833-35 Robert G. Frary 1836 Robert McKinstry 1837-38 Allen Jordan 1839 George W. Cook 1840 Robert G. Frary 1840-42 Samuel Anable 1842-43 Charles Darling 1843-44 Cyrus Curtiss 1844-46 Robert G. Frary 1846-47 Matthew Mitchell 1847-49 Hugh McClellan 1849-51 Peter S. Burger 1851-52 George H. Power 1852-53 Joshua T. Waterman 1853-54 Peter S. Wynkoop 1854 John C. Dormandy 1855-56 Joshua T. Waterman 1857-58 Jacob W. Hoysradt 1859-60 Samuel Bachman 1861-62 Jacob Ten Broeck 1863-64 Harper W. Rogers 1865-66 Jacob W. Hoysradt 1867-68 Harper W. Rogers 1869-70 George H. Power 1871-72 Cornelius H. Evans 1873-74 James N. Townsend 1875-76 Cornelius H. Evans 1877-78 Joshua T. Waterman 1879-80 William H. Traver 1881-82 Cyrus Macy 1883-84 Henry L. Gregg 1885-86 Samuel G. Rowles 1887-88 Henry L. Gregg 1889-90 Levi F. Longley 1891-92 George G. Miller 1893-94 George H. Tator 1895-96 Richard A. M. Deeley 1897-99 Charles S. Harvey 1899-1903 William A. Harder 1903-05 William S. Hallenbeck as of 1905-06 Henry Hudson as of 1907-09 James C. Armstrong as of 1910-11 William Wortman 1915-16 Charles S. Harvey as of 1920 Henry C. Galster as of 1921 Charles S. Harvey as of 1925-27 Henry Hudson as of 1928-29 Michael J. Degnan as of 1930-31 Archland M. Best 1932-33 Frank W. Wise as of 1934-35 Fred Wheeler 1936-37 William Wortman 1938-39 Earl J. Colwell as of 1940-44 Earl J. Colwell as of 1947-49 John L. Kelly as of 1952-59 Bartholomew F. Delaney as of 1966

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1844 Apr 2: Cyrus Curtiss (Whig), elected; Charles Darling (Dem), defeated.
  • 1874: James N. Townsend (Rep), elected; Cyrus Macy (Dem), defeated.
  • 1876 Dec 5: Cornelius H. Evans (Dem), elected; Joshua T. Waterman (Rep), defeated.
  • 1878: Joshua T. Waterman (Rep), elected; Nathan Dosenheim (Dem), defeated.
  • 1880: William H. Traver, elected unopposed.
  • 1882 Dec 5: Cyrus Macy (Dem), elected; James N. Townsend (Rep), defeated.
  • 1884 Dec 2: Henry L. Gregg (Dem), elected; A. Wheelock Rice (Rep), defeated.
  • 1886: Samuel G. Rowles, elected.
  • 1888: Henry L. Gregg, elected.
  • 1890 Dec 2: Levi F. Longley (Dem), elected.
  • 1896 Dec 1: Richard A. M. Deeley (Dem), elected.
  • 1899 Mar 21: Charles S. Harvey (Dem), elected; William A. Harder (Rep), defeated.
  • 1901 Mar 19: Charles S. Harvey (Dem), elected.
  • 1903 Mar 17: William A. Harder (Rep), elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: Charles S. Harvey (Dem), elected.
  • 1927 Nov 8: Henry Hudson (Rep), elected.
  • 1929 Nov 5: Michael J. Degnan (Dem), elected.
  • 1933 Jul 23: Archland M. Best, died in office.
  • 1933 Nov 7: Frank W. Wise (Dem), elected.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Fred Wheeler (Ind), elected.
  • 1937 Nov 2: William Wortman (Dem & Rep), elected; Fred Wheeler (American Labor & Citizens), defeated.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Earl J. Colwell (Rep), elected.
  • 1943 Nov 2: Earl J. Colwell (Rep & Dem), elected.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Carl H. Klein (Dem), elected.
  • 1951 Nov 6: John L. Kelly (Dem & Liberal), elected.
  • 1955 Nov 8: John L. Kelly (Dem), elected; Edward T. Grossman II (Rep), defeated.
  • 1959 Nov 3: John L. Kelly (Dem), elected.

    Postmasters at Hudson, 1816-1947 (may be incomplete!)
    Alexander Coffin as of 1816 Solomon Wescott as of 1836 William Bryan as of 1881 J. Rider Cady as of 1887 Willard Peck as of 1897 Henry R. Bryan as of 1901-16 John F. Brennen as of 1917-20 May Douds as of 1921 Charles E. Hardy as of 1928 Asahel G. Harvey as of 1937-47

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/hudson.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]