The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Glen Cove, New York

Mayors of Glen Cove, 1905-2013 (may be incomplete!)
James E. Burns as of 1920-25 William H. Seaman as of 1926-29 James E. Burns as of 1930-33 Harold F. Mason as of 1934-39 Horace K. T. Sherwood 1940-41 H. Bogart Seaman 1942 William H. Seaman 1942-43 Arthur Aitkenhead 1944-47 Luke A. Mercadante 1948-51 Joseph A. Stanco 1952-55 Joseph A. Suozzi 1956-60 Harvey Doxie 1961 Patrick J. Kenney 1961 Joseph M. Reilly 1962-65 Joseph W. Muldoon 1966-67 Andrew J. DiPaola 1968-71 Vincent A. Suozzi 1986-87 Donald P. DeRiggi 1988-93 Thomas R. Suozzi 1994-2001 Mary Ann Holzkamp 2002-05 Ralph V. Suozzi 2006-13

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1905: John H. Flynn (Dem), defeated.
  • 1921 Nov 8: James E. Burns (Dem), elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: William H. Seaman (Rep), elected.
  • 1927 Nov 8: William H. Seaman (Rep), elected.
  • 1929 Nov 5: James E. Burns (Dem), elected; William H. Seaman (Rep), defeated.
  • 1931 Sep 15: James E. Burns (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1931 Sep 15: Charles N. Brady (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1931 Nov 3: James E. Burns (Dem), elected; Charles N. Brady (Rep), defeated.
  • 1933 Nov 7: Harold F. Mason (Rep), elected; James E. Burns (Dem), defeated.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Harold F. Mason (Rep), elected.
  • 1937 Nov 2: Harold F. Mason (Rep), elected.
  • 1943 Nov 2: Arthur Aitkenhead (Rep), elected.
  • 1945 Nov 6: Arthur Aitkenhead (Rep), elected; J. A. Nicholson (Dem & American Labor), defeated.
  • 1947 Jul 29: Luke A. Mercadante (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1947 Jul 29: Arthur Aitkenhead (Rep), nominated; Frederick E. Bond (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1947 Nov 4: Luke A. Mercadante (Dem), elected; Arthur Aitkenhead (Rep), defeated.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Luke A. Mercadante (Dem), elected; Frederick E. Bond (Rep), defeated.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Joseph A. Stanco (Rep), elected; Adolph L. Ramon (Ind), defeated; Guiseppe A. Nigro (Dem), defeated.
  • 1953 Nov 3: Joseph A. Stanco (Rep), elected; C. J. Collins, Jr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Joseph A. Suozzi (Dem), elected; Joseph A. Stanco (Rep), defeated.
  • 1957 Nov 5: Joseph A. Suozzi (Dem), elected; Sterling W. Mudge (Rep), defeated.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Joseph A. Suozzi (Dem), elected; Aaron B. Cohen (Rep), defeated.
  • 1961 Jan 29: Patrick J. Kenney, appointed.
  • 1961 Nov 7: Joseph M. Reilly (Rep), elected; Frank P. Festa (Dem), defeated.
  • 1963 Nov 5: Joseph M. Reilly (Rep & Liberal), elected; Andrew J. DiPaola (Dem), defeated; Keith S. Sutton (Conservative), defeated.
  • 1965 Nov 2: Joseph W. Muldoon (Rep & Liberal), elected; Patrick J. Kenney (Dem), defeated; J. D. Griffin (Conservative), defeated.
  • 1967 Nov 7: Andrew J. DiPaola (Dem), elected; Joseph W. Muldoon (Rep & Liberal), defeated; Norman Sorenson (Conservative), defeated.
  • 1969 Nov 4: Andrew J. DiPaola (Dem), elected; Melvin H. Heiko (Rep & Conservative), defeated.
  • 1971 Nov 2: Andrew J. DiPaola (Dem), elected; Norman Sorenson (Rep), defeated; Edward Jablonski (Conservative), defeated; Mary Tracy (Independent Integrity), defeated.
  • 1987: Donald P. DeRiggi (Rep), elected; Vincent A. Suozzi (Dem), defeated.
  • 1991: Thomas R. Suozzi, defeated; Donald P. DeRiggi, elected.
  • 1993: Thomas R. Suozzi (Dem), elected.
  • 2005: Ralph V. Suozzi (Ind), elected; Mary Ann Holzkamp (Dem), defeated.
  • 2009 Nov 3: Ralph V. Suozzi (Dem & Working Families), elected; Paul Meli (Rep), defeated.
  • 2013 Nov 5: Reginald A. Spinello (Rep & Conservative), elected; Ralph V. Suozzi (Dem & Working Families), defeated.

    Postmasters at Glen Cove, 1836-1947 (may be incomplete!)
    William Harrold as of 1836 John Thurston as of 1881 J. W. Campbell as of 1887 Ward I. Fancher as of 1893-94 James H. Cocks as of 1897 Frederick A. Wright as of 1901 Ellwood Valentine as of 1915 John A. Neafsey as of 1916-21 Harry L. Hedger as of 1925-28 James E. Burns as of 1937-47

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/glencove.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]