The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Geneva, New York

Mayors of Geneva, 1900-66 (may be incomplete!)
Albert H. Herendeen as of 1900-01 Daniel E. Moore as of 1902-03 George F. Licht as of 1904-05 Arthur P. Rose 1906-09 Patrick O'Malley 1910-11 Reuben H. Gulvin as of 1912-16 George S. Stubbs as of 1920-21 Robert A. Catchpole 1922-23 Jasper B. Stahl as of 1925 Henry T. Maxwell 1926-29 Melvin S. Gaylord as of 1930-31 William C. Demming as of 1932-33 Henry T. Maxwell 1934-37 Charles F. Nieder 1938-39 F. William Warder as of 1940-41 Charles F. Nieder 1942-47 Castner E. Rapalee as of 1948-49 W. Erle Rogers 1952-57 Frederick L. Warder as of 1959 Donald J. Eades as of 1966

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1909 Nov 2: Patrick O'Malley (Dem), elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: Reuben H. Gulvin (Rep), elected.
  • 1921 Nov 8: Robert A. Catchpole (Rep), elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: Henry T. Maxwell (Rep), elected.
  • 1929 Nov 5: Melvin S. Gaylord (Rep), elected.
  • 1933 Nov 7: Henry T. Maxwell (Rep), elected.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Henry T. Maxwell (Rep), elected.
  • 1937 Nov 2: Charles F. Nieder (Dem), elected; Henry T. Maxwell (Rep), defeated.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Arthur J. McCann (Dem), elected.
  • 1951 Nov 6: W. Erle Rogers (Rep), elected.
  • 1955 Nov 8: W. Erle Rogers (Rep), elected; John E. O'Malley (Dem), defeated.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Harold M. Simpson (Rep), elected.

    Postmasters at Geneva, 1794-1981 (may be incomplete!)
    John Johnston 1794-96 Walter Grieve 1796-97 Elijah H. Gordon 1797-1810 William Tippetts 1810-24 David Hudson 1824-29 Charles Butler 1829-31 Godfrey J. Grosvenor 1831-41 James Rees 1841-45 George M. Horton 1845-49 Barzillai Slosson 1849-53 Stephen H. Parker 1853-54 Luther Kelly 1854-56 Joseph S. Lewis 1856-57 Stephen H. Parker 1857-61 William Johnson 1861-65 Angus McDonald 1865-69 Samuel N. Anthony 1869-73 Charles L. Hemiup 1873-81 Edward B. Webster 1881-85 Erastus J. Rogers 1885-89 Herman F. Fox 1889-93 Henry B. Graves 1893-97 Samuel D. Willard 1897-1906 Abram R. Wyckoff 1906-15 Thomas J. Gallagher 1915-21 Reuben H. Gulvin 1921-31 Leon A. Currey 1931-35 Daniel F. Driscoll 1935-36 Daniel F. Driscoll 1936-62 John P. Hennessy 1962-64 John P. Hennessy 1964-81

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/geneva.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]