The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Freeport, New York
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Freeport, 1927-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Clinton M. Flint 1927-31 Robert E. Patterson as of 1935-40 Worden E. Winne as of 1941-42 Clinton M. Flint as of 1943-44 Cyril C. Ryan as of 1947-48 Robert L. Doxsee as of 1949-53 William F. Glacken as of 1953-59 Robert J. Sweeney as of 1965

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1929 Mar 19: Clinton M. Flint (Citizens & Citizens Union), elected unopposed.
  • 1931 Mar 17: Russell F. Randall (Citizens), elected; Clinton M. Flint (Independence), defeated.
  • 1935 Mar 19: Robert E. Patterson (Economy), elected; John F. DeLorme (Citizens), defeated.
  • 1937 Mar 16: Robert E. Patterson (Economy), elected; Name Unknown (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1951 Mar 20: Robert L. Doxsee (Unity), elected; Horace F. Carpenter (Village Rule), defeated.
  • 1965 Mar 16: Robert J. Sweeney (Village), elected; Francis J. Musso (Citizens), defeated.
  • 2013 Nov 5: Robert Kennedy, elected; Andrew Hardwick, defeated.

    Village Presidents of Freeport, 1921-26 (may be incomplete!)
    Robert L. Christie 1921-22 W. Irving Vanderpoel as of 1925-26

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1925 Mar 17: W. Irving Vanderpoel (Citizens), elected; Robert L. Christie (People's), defeated.
  • 1926 Mar 16: John Cruikshank, elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at Freeport, 1881-1947 (may be incomplete!)
    Elbert Fox as of 1881 E. B. Bedell as of 1887 Charles S. Powell as of 1893-97 Robert G. Anderson as of 1901-16 T. Benson Smith as of 1917-21 Sylvester P. Shea as of 1925-28 Edward A. Rice as of 1937-47

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/freeport.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]