The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Fredonia, New York
including Pomfret
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Fredonia, 1947-57 (may be incomplete!)
Harry F. Salhoff as of 1947 Edward F. James as of 1953 Russell R. Joy as of 1957

Postmasters at Fredonia, 1817-1971 (may be incomplete!)
Moseby W. Abell 1817-27 Orrin McCluer 1827-32 Charles J. Orton 1832-35 John Z. Saxton 1835-39 Ebenezer A. Lester 1839-48 Daniel W. Douglass 1848-49 Levi L. Pratt 1849-53 Oscar W. Johnson 1853-55 Lorenzo Morris 1855-61 Charles J. Orton 1861-62 Willard McKinstry 1862-71 Melvin H. Taylor 1871-75 Albert Haywood 1875 Melvin H. Taylor 1875-76 Louis McKinstry 1876-84 Melissa A. Pemberton 1884-88 Philo H. Stevens 1888-92 William B. Barker 1892-95 Arthur R. Moon 1895-99 Melvin H. Taylor 1899-1904 William E. Clark 1904-16 Frank M. Evans 1916-24 Clinton H. Card 1924-36 Harry B. Hickey 1936-37 Harry B. Hickey 1937-42 Harry B. Hickey, Jr. 1942-44 Arthur D. Toomey 1944 Arthur D. Toomey 1944-58 Earl J. Sardeson 1958-59 Earl J. Sardeson 1959-69 Harry B. Hickey, Jr. 1969-71

(now Fredonia)

Postmasters at Pomfret, 1809-17 (may be incomplete!)
Samuel Berry 1809-13 Jacob Houghton 1813-17

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/fredonia.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]