The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Elmira, New York
including Newtown
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Elmira, 1864-2017 (may be incomplete!)
John Arnot, Jr. as of 1864 John Arnot, Jr. as of 1870 John Arnot, Jr. as of 1874 David B. Hill as of 1882 John B. Stanchfield as of 1886-88 Charles S. Davison as of 1892 Frederick Collin 1894-98 Edgar Denton as of 1900 Frank H. Flood 1900-02 Daniel Sheehan 1903-04 William T. Coleman as of 1905 Z. Reed Brockway as of 1906-07 Daniel Sheehan 1908-11 Harry N. Hoffman as of 1915-16 George W. Peck 1920-21 J. Norton Wood 1922-25 David N. Heller 1926-29 Frank P. Robinson 1930-31 W. Glenn Sweet 1932-33 Henry W. Honan 1934-35 Frank H. Parks 1935 J. Maxwell Beers 1936-41 Emory Strachen 1942-55 Edward A. Mooers 1956-61 Edward T. Lagonegro 1962-65 Howard H. Kimball 1966-67 Edward T. Lagonegro 1968-71 Richard C. Loll 1972-75 John M. Kennedy 1976-79 Robert G. Densberger 1980-81 Mary P. Ciccariello 1982-83 Stephen J. Fesh, Jr. 1984-87 James E. Hare 1988-93 Howard F. Townsend 1994-97 Stephen M. Hughes 1998-2005 J. William O'Brien 2005-06 John S. Tonello 2006-11 Susan J. Skidmore 2012-15 Daniel J. Mandell 2016-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1900 Mar 6: Frank H. Flood, elected.
  • 1909 Nov 2: Daniel Sheehan (Dem), elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: Daniel Sheehan (Dem), elected.
  • 1921 Nov 8: J. Norton Wood (Rep), elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: David N. Heller (Dem), elected.
  • 1927 Nov 8: David N. Heller (Dem & Rep), elected.
  • 1929 Nov 5: Frank P. Robinson (Dem), elected.
  • 1933 Nov 7: Henry W. Honan (Dem), elected.
  • 1935 May 20: Henry W. Honan, died in office.
  • 1935 Nov 5: J. Maxwell Beers (Rep), elected.
  • 1937 Nov 2: J. Maxwell Beers (Rep), elected.
  • 1941 Nov 29: J. Maxwell Beers, died in office.
  • 1942: Emory Strachen (Rep), elected.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Emory Strachen (Rep), elected.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Emory Strachen (Rep), elected.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Edward A. Mooers (Rep), elected; Wickham B. Smith (Dem), defeated.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Edward A. Mooers (Rep), elected.

    Village Presidents of Elmira, 1859-61 (may be incomplete!)
    John Arnot, Jr. as of 1859-61

    Postmasters at Elmira, 1834-1947 (may be incomplete!)
    Thomas Maxwell 1834-39 E. F. Babcock as of 1887 L. G. Rathbun as of 1893-94 George H. Cotton as of 1897 M. M. Conklin as of 1901 William H. Lovell as of 1915-17 Daniel Sheehan as of 1918-21 George M. Diven as of 1925-28 George W. Sheahan as of 1937-43 Charles J. O'Connell as of 1947

    (renamed Elmira)

    Postmasters at Newtown, 1836 (may be incomplete!)
    John Dodge as of 1836

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/elmira.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]