The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Dunkirk, New York

Mayors of Dunkirk, 1891-2011 (may be incomplete!)
William Martin 1891 Frank Gould 1892 Charles C. Parker 1893 Charles Hequembourg 1894-96 William Bookstaver 1896-97 Alexander Williams 1898-99 Charles J. Wirtner 1900 Daniel Scannell 1901-03 Charles J. Wirtner 1904-05 John T. Madigan 1906-07 Myer Einstein 1908-09 Harry James 1910-11 Harry B. Lyon 1912-13 John T. Sullivan 1914-15 J. A. Taylor 1916-17 James Pierce 1918-19 Harry B. Lyon 1920-21 Glenn W. Woodin 1922-23 John T. Kornprobst 1924-25 Walter L. Roberts 1926-27 Paul Weiss 1928-31 Walter L. Roberts 1932-37 Thomas J. Egan 1938-41 Frank T. Bartela 1942-45 Walter F. Murray 1946-53 Bernard G. Dougherty 1954-55 George T. Wheeler 1956-59 Joseph T. Steger 1960-69 Neil Chaffie 1970-71 Clemens Lutz 1972-73 Leon Damian 1974-75 Gilbert W. Snyder 1976-79 Gary Michalak 1980-81 Edwin Gregoreski 1982-87 Madylon Kubera 1988-89 Gregory Krauza 1990-91 Margaret Wuerstle 1992-97 Robert Kesicki 1998-2001 Richard L. Frey 2002-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1909 Nov 2: Harry James (Rep), elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: Harry B. Lyon (Rep), elected.
  • 1921 Nov 8: Glenn W. Woodin (Rep), elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: Walter L. Roberts (Rep), elected.
  • 1927 Nov 8: Paul Weiss (Dem), elected.
  • 1929 Nov 5: Paul Weiss (Dem), elected.
  • 1933 Nov 7: Walter L. Roberts (Rep), elected.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Walter L. Roberts (Rep), elected.
  • 1937 Nov 2: Thomas J. Egan (Dem), elected.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Thomas J. Egan (Dem), elected.
  • 1943 Nov 2: Frank T. Bartela (Dem), elected.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Walter F. Murray (Rep & American Labor), elected.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Walter F. Murray (Rep), elected.
  • 1955 Nov 8: George T. Wheeler (Rep), elected; Bernard G. Dougherty (Dem), defeated.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Joseph T. Steger (Dem), elected.

    Postmasters at Dunkirk, 1818-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    Ellis Doty 1818-22 Ezra Williams 1822-33 Adam Fink 1833-41 William L. Carpenter 1841-44 Lysander B. Brown 1844-53 George B. Stockton 1853-58 Patrick Barrett 1858-61 Richard L. Cary 1861-66 Sidney L. Wilson 1866-68 John K. Patterson 1868-71 Lee L. Hyde 1871-76 Alexander W. Popple 1876-77 Phebe Jane Popple 1877-80 Clarence M. Reed 1880-88 Thomas D. VanDevort 1888-89 Clarence M. Reed 1889-94 Thomas P. Heffernan 1894-98 Fred C. Nagle 1898-1902 Frank B. Barnard 1902-11 Owen B. Mulholland 1911-15 Simon J. Karin 1915-21 Harry B. Lyon 1921 Harry B. Lyon 1921-34 William L. Koch 1934-35 William L. Koch 1935-48 Daniel P. Scannell 1948-49 Daniel P. Scannell 1949-54 Ignatius Fafinski 1954-55 Ignatius Fafinski 1955-68 Thomas P. Nowicki 1968-71

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/dunkirk.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]