The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Buffalo, New York

Mayors of Buffalo, 1832-2022 (may be incomplete!)
Ebenezer Johnson 1832-33 Andre Andrews 1833-35 Samuel Wilkeson 1835-36 Hiram Pratt 1836-37 Josiah Trowbridge 1837-38 Ebenezer Walden 1838-39 Hiram Pratt 1839-40 Sheldon Thompson 1840-41 Isaac R. Harrington 1841-42 George W. Clinton 1842-43 Joseph G. Masten 1843-44 William Ketchum 1844-45 Joseph G. Masten 1845-46 Solomon G. Haven 1846-47 Elbridge G. Spaulding 1847-48 Orlando Allen 1848-49 Hiram Barton 1849-50 Henry K. Smith 1850-51 James Wadsworth 1851-52 Hiram Barton 1852-53 Eli Cook, Jr. 1853-55 Frederick P. Stevens 1856-57 Timothy T. Lockwood 1858-59 Franklin A. Alberger 1860-61 William Fargo 1862-65 Chandler J. Wells 1866-67 William F. Rogers 1868-69 Alexander Brush 1870-73 Lewis P. Dayton 1874-75 Philip Becker 1876-77 Solomon Scheu 1878-79 Alexander Brush 1880-81 Grover Cleveland 1882 Marcus M. Drake 1882 Harmon S. Cutting 1882-83 John B. Manning 1883-84 Jonathan Scoville 1884-85 Philip Becker 1886-89 Charles F. Bishop 1890-94 Edgar B. Jewett 1895-97 Conrad Diehl 1898-1901 Erastus C. Knight 1902-05 James N. Adam 1906-09 Louis P. Fuhrmann 1910-17 George S. Buck 1918-21 Frank X. Schwab 1922-29 Charles E. Roesch 1930-33 George J. Zimmerman 1934-37 Thomas L. Holling 1938-41 Joseph J. Kelly 1942-45 Bernard J. Dowd 1946-49 Joseph Mruk 1950-53 Steven Pankow 1954-57 Frank A. Sedita 1958-61 Chester Kowal 1962-65 Frank A. Sedita 1966-73 Stanley M. Makowski 1973-77 James D. Griffin 1978-93 Anthony M. Masiello 1994-2005 Byron W. Brown 2006-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1853 Mar 1: Eli Cook, Jr. (Dem), elected; Leroy Farnham (Whig), defeated.
  • 1853 Nov 8: Eli Cook, Jr. (Dem), elected; James C. Harrison (Whig), defeated; Elijah D. Efner (Dem), defeated; George Palmer (Temperance), defeated; Reuben B. Heacock (Ind), defeated.
  • 1855 Nov 6: Frederick P. Stevens (Dem), elected; William A. Bird (American), defeated; Lewis L. Hodges (Rep), defeated.
  • 1857 Jun 9: Timothy T. Lockwood (Dem), elected; Frederick P. Stevens (People's), defeated.
  • 1869 Nov 2: Alexander Brush (Rep), elected.
  • 1877: Solomon Scheu (Dem), elected.
  • 1879: Solomon Scheu (Dem), defeated.
  • 1879 Nov 4: Alexander Brush, elected.
  • 1882 Nov 19: Grover Cleveland, resigned.
  • 1883 Jan 9: John B. Manning (Dem), elected; R. R. Hefford (Rep), defeated.
  • 1887: Solomon Scheu (Dem), defeated.
  • 1901: Herbert P. Bissell (Dem), defeated.
  • 1905 Nov 7: James N. Adam (Dem), elected.
  • 1909 Nov 2: Louis P. Fuhrmann (Dem), elected.
  • 1921 Nov 8: Frank X. Schwab (Rep), elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: Frank X. Schwab, elected; Ross Graves, defeated.
  • 1929 Nov 5: Charles E. Roesch (Rep), elected.
  • 1933 Nov 7: George J. Zimmerman (Dem), elected.
  • 1937 Nov 2: Thomas L. Holling (Dem & American Labor), elected; Edwin F. Jaeckle (Rep), defeated.
  • 1947: John D. Hillery (Dem), defeated.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Joseph Mruk (Rep), elected.
  • 1953: Peter J. Crotty, defeated.
  • 1953 Nov 3: Steven Pankow (Dem), elected.
  • 1973 Mar 5: Frank A. Sedita, resigned; Stanley M. Makowski, appointed.
  • 1977: Arthur O. Eve, defeated.
  • 1985: James D. Griffin (Rep & Conservative), elected; George K. Arthur (Dem), defeated.
  • 1989: William B. Hoyt, defeated.
  • 2001 Sep 25: Anthony M. Masiello (Dem), nominated; Beverly Gray (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2001 Nov 6: Anthony M. Masiello (Dem & Rep & Independence), elected; Judith Einach, defeated.
  • 2013 Nov 5: Byron W. Brown (Dem), elected; Sergio Rodriguez (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Buffalo, 1804-1970 (may be incomplete!)
    Erastus Granger 1804-18 Julius Guiteau 1818-31 Samuel Russell 1831-34 Henry P. Russell 1834 Orange H. Dibble 1834-38 Philip Dorsheimer 1838-41 Charles C. Haddock 1841-45 Philip Dorsheimer 1845-46 Henry K. Smith 1846-49 Isaac R. Harrington 1849-51 James O. Putnam 1851-53 James G. Dickie 1853-59 Israel T. Hatch 1859-61 Almon M. Clapp 1861-66 Joseph Candee 1866-67 Isaac M. Schermerhorn 1867-69 Thomas Blossom 1869-71 Isaac M. Schermerhorn 1871-78 John M. Bedford 1878-87 John B. Sackett 1887-90 Bernard F. Gentsch 1890-94 Howard H. Baker 1894-99 Samuel G. Dorr 1899-1901 Fred Greiner 1901-14 William F. Kasting 1914-16 George J. Meyer 1916 George J. Meyer 1916-19 Charles F. Boine 1919-20 Raymond Bissell 1920-21 Robert W. Gallagher 1921-34 Daniel A. Driscoll 1934 Daniel A. Driscoll 1934-47 John M. Keyes 1947 John M. Keyes 1947-52 James M. Gavin 1952-53 Joseph R. Hawn 1953-54 Joseph R. Hawn 1954-57 Myron F. Blakeney 1957-59 Myron F. Blakeney 1959-70

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/buffalo.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]