The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Binghamton, New York

Mayors of Binghamton, 1867-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Abel Bennett 1867 Jabez F. Rice 1868 Job N. Congdon 1869-70 Walton Dwight 1871 Sherman D. Phelps 1872 Benjamin N. Loomis 1873 Delancey M. Halbert 1874 Charles McKinney 1875 John Rankin 1876 Charles Butler 1877-78 James H. Bartlett 1879 Horace N. Lester 1880 Duncan R. Grant 1881 James K. Weldon 1882 J. Stuart Wells 1883 George A. Thayer 1884 Benajah S. Curran as of 1892 George E. Green as of 1893-99 Jerome De Witt as of 1900-01 Samuel L. Smith as of 1902-05 Hiram H. Woodburn as of 1906-07 Clarence M. Slausen 1908-09 John J. Irving 1910-11 William R. Ely as of 1915 Frank H. Truitt as of 1916-17 Harry C. Walker as of 1918 Thomas A. Wilson as of 1920-21 John A. Giles as of 1924-25 Clarence J. Cook as of 1926-27 Norman A. Boyd as of 1928-31 Miles M. Smith 1932-35 James T. Ivory 1935 Thomas W. Behan 1936-37 Charles W. Kress 1938-41 Fancher M. Hopkins 1942-43 Walker B. Lounsbery as of 1944-49 Donald W. Kramer as of 1950-57 John J. Burns 1958-65 Joseph W. Esworthy as of 1966 Alfred J. Libous as of 1975

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1880 Feb 10: Horace N. Lester (Rep), elected.
  • 1909 Nov 2: John J. Irving (Dem), elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: John J. Irving (Dem), elected.
  • 1915 Nov 2: Frank H. Truitt (Prohibition), elected.
  • 1921 Nov 8: Thomas A. Wilson (Rep), elected.
  • 1923 Nov 6: John A. Giles (Rep), elected; John J. Irving (Dem), defeated.
  • 1925 Nov 3: Clarence J. Cook (Dem & Independent Republican), elected.
  • 1927 Nov 8: Norman A. Boyd (Rep), elected.
  • 1931 Nov 3: Miles M. Smith (Fusion), elected; C. Mossman McLean (Citizens), defeated.
  • 1935 Jul 29: Miles M. Smith, resigned.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Thomas W. Behan (Rep), elected.
  • 1937 Sep 16: John J. Burns (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1937 Sep 16: Charles W. Kress (Rep), nominated; Robert H. Badger (Rep), defeated in primary; Rana S. Cooper (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1937 Nov 2: Charles W. Kress (Rep), elected; John J. Burns (Dem), defeated.
  • 1943 Sep 15: Fancher M. Hopkins, died in office.
  • 1943 Nov 3: Walker B. Lounsbery (Rep), elected.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Donald W. Kramer (Dem), elected.
  • 1953 Nov 3: Donald W. Kramer (Dem), elected.
  • 1957: John J. Burns, elected.
  • 1961: John J. Burns, elected.
  • 1993: John J. Burns, defeated.
  • 2013 Nov 5: Richard David (Rep), elected; Teri Rennia (Dem), defeated.

    Postmasters at Binghamton, 1836-1947 (may be incomplete!)
    Tracy Robinson as of 1836 Edward B. Stephens as of 1874-82 George W. Dunn as of 1883 E. H. Freeman as of 1887 George W. Dunn as of 1892 Charles A. Hull as of 1893-94 Charles F. Terhue as of 1897 James H. Roberts as of 1901-07 Fancher M. Hopkins as of 1915-21 Henry B. Mulford as of 1925-35 Michael L. Sullivan as of 1937 Charles W. Craig as of 1943-47

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/binghamton.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]