The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ballston Spa, New York
including Ballston, Ballston Springs
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Ballston Spa, 1946-57 (may be incomplete!)
Purcell D. Ball as of 1946 Edward F. Leahy as of 1947 Charles G. Heniger as of 1957

Postmasters at Ballston Spa, 1890-1969 (may be incomplete!)
Frank Jones 1890-94 Henry C. Dater 1894-98 Frank Jones 1898-1905 Hiro J. Settle 1905-13 William S. Waterbury 1913-22 George I. Yost 1922 George I. Yost 1922-31 Walter H. Estes 1931-32 Walter H. Estes 1932-36 James J. O'Brien 1936 James J. O'Brien 1936-38 Edward J. Morley 1938-40 Edward J. Morley 1940-57 Arthur G. Wood 1957-58 Arthur G. Wood 1958-69

(now Ballston Spa)

Postmasters at Ballston, 1829-90 (may be incomplete!)
Joel Lee 1829-41 James W. Horton 1841-44 George Thompson 1844-49 James Comstock 1849-51 James H. Speir 1851-53 Moses Williams 1853-61 Moses L. Williams 1861-69 James O. Leach 1869-81 Aurelia C. Leach 1881-82 Merritt J. Esmond 1882-83 Edward F. Grose 1883-85 Charles O. McCreedy 1885-89 Frank Jones 1889-90

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1881 Jan 13: James O. Leach, died in office.

    Ballston Springs
    (now Ballston Spa)

    Postmasters at Ballston Springs, 1797-1829 (may be incomplete!)
    Joshua Aldridge 1797-1805 Joel Lee 1805-29

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/ballstonspa.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]