The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Amsterdam, New York

Mayors of Amsterdam, 1885-2000 (may be incomplete!)
John Carmichael 1885 Harlan P. Kline 1886 Thomas Liddle 1887-88 John F. Dwyer 1889 Hicks B. Waldron 1890 William A. Breedon 1891-92 Charles S. Nisbet 1893 George R. Hannon 1894 William A. Fisher 1895-96 William H. Kafman 1897 Zerah S. Westbrook 1898-99 Samuel Wallin 1900-01 William A. Gardner 1902-03 Robert N. Clark 1904-05 Jacob H. Dealy 1906-09 Seely Conover 1910-11 Jacob H. Dealy 1912-13 James R. Cline 1914-17 Seely Conover 1918-19 Theron Akin 1920-23 Carl S. Salmon 1924-29 William A. Gardner 1930-31 Robert B. Brumagim 1932-33 Arthur Carter 1934-43 John Klobukowski 1943 Wilbur H. Lynch 1944-45 Joseph P. Hand 1946-47 Burtiss E. Deal 1948-55 Frank J. Martuscello 1956-57 Thomas F. Gregg 1958-59 Frank J. Martuscello 1960-63 Marcus I. Breier 1964-67 John P. Gomulka 1968-79 Mario Villa 1980-87 Paul M. Parillo 1988-91 Mario Villa 1992-95 John M. Duchessi 1996-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1909 Nov 2: Seely Conover (Rep), elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: Jacob H. Dealy (Dem), elected.
  • 1915 Nov 2: James R. Cline (Rep), elected.
  • 1921 Nov 8: Theron Akin (Dem & Rep & Socialist), elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: Carl S. Salmon (Rep), elected.
  • 1927: Theron Akin, defeated for nomination.
  • 1927 Nov 8: Carl S. Salmon (Rep), elected.
  • 1929 Nov 5: William A. Gardner (Dem), elected.
  • 1933 Nov 7: Arthur Carter (Dem), elected.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Arthur Carter (Dem), elected.
  • 1937 Nov 2: Arthur Carter (Dem), elected; Harold B. Schotte (Rep), defeated.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Arthur Carter (Dem), elected.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Burtiss E. Deal (Rep & American Labor), elected.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Burtiss E. Deal (Rep), elected.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Frank J. Martuscello (Rep), elected; John J. Mycek (Dem), defeated.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Frank J. Martuscello (Rep), elected.

    Postmasters at Amsterdam, 1816-1948 (may be incomplete!)
    James Downs as of 1816 Joseph French as of 1836 Almarin Young as of 1874 William J. Kline as of 1881-83 J. Wasserman as of 1887 Richard F. Caney as of 1892 Julia A. Caney as of 1893-97 Thomas Liddle as of 1901-07 Robert E. L. Reynolds as of 1915-21 James McD. Reid as of 1925-28 William A. Gardner as of 1935-43 Thomas J. Tighe, Jr. as of 1947-48

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/amsterdam.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]