The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Albuquerque, New Mexico

Mayors of Albuquerque, 1885-2016 (may be incomplete!)
Henry N. Jaffa 1885-86 George Lail 1886-87 William B. Childers 1887-88 Arthur E. Walker 1888-89 G. W. Meylert 1889-90 Michael Mandell 1890-91 Joseph Exum Saint 1891-92 George S. Easterday 1892-93 Neill Brooks Field 1893-94 John F. Luthy 1894-95 Joseph C. Baldridge 1895-97 Strickland Aubright 1897-98 Frank Willey Clancy 1898-99 Owen N. Marron 1899-1902 Charles F. Myers 1902-04 Frank McKee 1904-08 Felix H. Lester 1908-10 John W. Elder 1910-12 D. K. B. Sellers 1912-14 David H. Boatright 1914-16 Harry E. Kinney 1974-77 David Rusk 1977-81 Harry E. Kinney 1981-85 Ken Schultz 1985-89 Louis E. Saavedra 1989-93 Martin J. Chávez 1993-97 Jim R. Baca 1997-2001 Martin J. Chávez 2001-09 Richard J. Berry 2009-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1981: Gordon E. Sanders, defeated.
  • 1985: Gordon E. Sanders, defeated.
  • 1997: Jim R. Baca, elected.
  • 2001 Oct 2: Martin J. Chávez, elected; Bob Schwartz, defeated; Mike McEntee, defeated; Jim R. Baca, defeated; Richard W. Homans, defeated; James B. Lewis, defeated; Alan B. Armijo, defeated; Kermit D. Vincent, defeated.

    Postmasters at Albuquerque, 1881-1982 (may be incomplete!)
    Frederick H. Kent 1881-82 Thomas Hughes 1882-85 William A. Walker 1885-90 Hallum G. Williamson 1890 Alexander M. Whitcomb 1890-94 Ernest A. Grunsfeld 1894-99 Justo R. Armijo 1899-1901 Robert W. Hopkins 1901-14 Henry C. Roehl 1914-21 Berthold Spitz 1921 Berthold Spitz 1921-33 Roy L. Cook 1933-35 Roy L. Cook 1935-37 John A. Werner 1937-38 John A. Werner 1938-53 Hugh P. Cooper 1953-54 Hugh P. Cooper 1954-58 John P. McFarland 1958-59 John P. McFarland 1959-64 Richard J. Pino 1964 Richard J. Pino 1964-82

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NM/ofc/albuquerque.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]