The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Trenton, New Jersey

Mayors of Trenton, 1792-2016 (may be incomplete!)
Moore Furman 1792-94 Aaron D. Woodruff 1794-97 James Ewing 1797-1803 Joshua Wright 1803-06 Stacy Potts 1806-14 Robert McNealy 1814-32 Charles Burroughs 1832-47 Samuel R. Hamilton 1847-49 William C. Howell 1849-50 William Napton 1850-52 John R. Tucker 1852-54 William Napton 1854-55 William P. Sherman 1855 John R. Tucker 1855-56 Joseph Wood 1856-59 Franklin S. Mills 1859-61 William R. McKean 1861-63 Franklin S. Mills 1863-67 Alfred Reed 1867-68 William Napton 1868-71 John Briest 1871-75 Wesley Creveling 1875-77 Daniel R. Bodine 1877-79 William Rice 1879-81 Garrett D. W. Vroom 1881-84 Richard A. Donnelly 1884-86 John Woolverton 1886-87 Frank A. Magowan 1887-89 Anthony A. Skirm 1889-91 Daniel J. Bechtel 1891-93 Joseph B. Shaw 1893-95 Emory N. Yard 1895-97 Welling G. Sickel 1897-99 Frank O. Briggs 1899-1902 Frank S. Katzenbach, Jr. 1902-06 Frederick W. Gnichtel 1906-08 Walter Madden 1908-11 Frederick W. Donnelly 1911-32 William J. Connor as of 1937 Donal J. Connolly as of 1953-54 Arthur J. Holland 1959-66 Carmen J. Armenti 1966-70 Arthur J. Holland 1970-89 Douglas H. Palmer 1990-2010 Tony F. Mack 2010-14 George Muschal 2014 Eric Jackson 2014-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1851: Mercer Beasley (Whig), defeated.
  • 1858 Apr 13: Joseph Wood (Dem), elected.
  • 1909 Nov 2: Walter Madden (Dem), elected.
  • 1974 May 14: Arthur J. Holland, elected.
  • 1989 Nov 9: Arthur J. Holland, died in office.
  • 2010: Eric Jackson, defeated.
  • 2014 Feb 26: Tony F. Mack, removed.
  • 2014 Jun 10: Eric Jackson, elected.

    Postmasters at Trenton, 1764-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    Abraham Hunt 1764-78 James Paxton 1778-82 Benjamin Smith 1782-87 John Singer 1787-92 Peter Gordon 1792-1803 Charles Rice 1803-21 James J. Wilson 1821-24 Jane Wilson 1824-35 Joseph Cunningham 1835-42 John McKelway 1842-43 Joseph Justice 1843-49 John S. McCully 1849-53 William A. Benjamin 1853-61 Joshua Jones 1861-66 Frederick S. McNeely 1866-71 Israel Howell 1871-83 Charles H. Skirm 1883-86 Eckford Moore 1886-89 Alexander C. Yard 1889-94 Frank H. Lalor 1894-98 Alexander C. Yard 1898-1914 Enoch Furman Hooper 1914-22 Charles H. Updike 1922 Charles H. Updike 1922-33 Edward J. Jennings 1933-34 Edward J. Jennings 1934-39 Joseph M. Carson 1939-43 Edward J. Jennings 1943-45 Edward J. Jennings 1945-52 John L. Malley 1952 John L. Malley 1952-53 John Dawson 1953-54 John Dawson 1954-68 Robert V. Suydam 1968-71

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1824 Jul 28: James J. Wilson, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/trenton.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]