The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Rutherford, New Jersey

Mayors of Rutherford, 1881-2008 (may be incomplete!)
Alfred Oakley 1881-83 Luther Shafer 1883-87 Thomas G. Wilson 1887-89 William A. Preston 1889-91 Joseph P. Cooper 1891-93 Luther Shafer 1893-95 Edward J. Turner 1895-1901 Frank P. Newman 1901-03 Andrew H. Brinkerhoff 1903-07 Thomas W. Evans 1908-09 David Bosman 1910-11 William C. Black 1912-13 Oscar F. Gunz 1914-15 William Black 1916-19 Frederick W. Sheaf 1920-23 H. R. Frizzell as of 1932 Frederick V. Hugo 1939 Martin P. Nelson 1940 J. C. Green as of 1953-54 G. Herbert Mallett as of 1960-64 Andrew Bertone 1995-99 Bernadette P. McPherson 2000-07 John F. Hipp 2008-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1881 Oct 4: Alfred Oakley, elected.
  • 1882 Mar 14: Alfred Oakley, elected.
  • 1883 Mar 13: Luther Shafer, elected.
  • 1884 Mar 11: Luther Shafer, elected.
  • 1885 Mar 10: Luther Shafer, elected.
  • 1886 Mar 9: Luther Shafer, elected.
  • 1887 Mar 8: Thomas G. Wilson, elected.
  • 1888 Mar 18: Thomas G. Wilson, elected.
  • 1889 Mar 12: William A. Preston, elected.
  • 1890 Mar 17: William A. Preston, elected.
  • 1891 Mar 16: Joseph P. Cooper (Citizens), elected.
  • 1892 Mar 14: Joseph P. Cooper, elected.
  • 1893 Mar 20: Luther Shafer, elected.
  • 1894 Mar 19: Luther Shafer, elected.
  • 1895 Mar 12: Edward J. Turner (Rep), elected.
  • 1897 Mar 15: Edward J. Turner, elected.
  • 1899 Mar 20: Edward J. Turner, elected.
  • 1901 Mar 18: Frank P. Newman, elected.
  • 1903 Mar 16: Andrew H. Brinkerhoff, elected.
  • 1905 Nov 8: Andrew H. Brinkerhoff, elected.
  • 1907 Nov 6: Thomas W. Evans, elected.
  • 1909 Nov 2: David Bosman (Rep), elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: William C. Black, elected.
  • 1913 Nov 4: Oscar F. Gunz, elected.
  • 1915 Nov 2: William Black, elected.
  • 1917 Nov 6: William Black, elected.
  • 1919 Nov 4: Frederick W. Sheaf, elected.
  • 1921 Nov 8: Frederick W. Sheaf, elected.
  • 1943 Nov 2: Martin P. Nelson (Rep), elected.
  • 1945 Nov 6: John T. Strothers (Rep), elected.
  • 1999: Bernadette P. McPherson (Dem), elected; Andrew Bertone (Rep), defeated.
  • 2007 Jun 5: Bernadette P. McPherson (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 2007 Jun 5: John F. Hipp (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 2007 Nov 6: John F. Hipp (Rep), elected; Bernadette P. McPherson (Dem), defeated.

    Postmasters at Rutherford, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Jacob G. Van Riper as of 1887 C. Burrows as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/rutherford.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]