The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Rahway, New Jersey

Mayors of Rahway, 1858-2010 (may be incomplete!)
Edward Y. Rodgers 1858-60 John H. Lufbery 1860-61 Thomas J. Lee 1862-64 J. Henry Stone 1864-66 D. W. C. Hough 1866-68 John F. Whitney 1868-69 John C. Coddington 1869-70 William J. Brown 1871-72 John D. Chapin 1872-74 Lewis S. Hyer 1874-75 Daniel K. Ryno 1875-76 John J. High 1876-78 Alpheus D. Gibbons 1878-79 W. Updyke Selover 1879 J. W. Savage 1880-81 Linus High 1882-84 J. W. Savage 1884 John J. Daly 1885-87 Lewis S. Hyer 1888 Edward Crolius 1889 Lewis S. Hyer 1889-91 William Chamberlain 1891-93 John J. Daly 1893-95 Charles B. Holmes 1896-1903 James H. Terrill 1904-05 James B. Furber 1906 Albert J. Westlake 1906-07 Charles B. Holmes 1908-09 William Howard 1910-11 Stewart B. Moffett 1912-15 Harry Simmons 1916-17 David H. Trembley 1918-22 James B. Furber 1922-24 Frank L. Foulks 1924 Thomas A. Fyffe 1925-28 Adolph Ulbrich 1929-30 Alfred C. Brooks 1931-34 John E. Barger 1935-42 David Armstrong 1943-44 Edward J. Carlin 1945-46 Dennis P. Donovan 1947-50 James G. Egolf 1951-53 Reynolds C. Buckley 1953-54 James G. Donovan 1955-58 Robert E. Henderson 1959-66 John C. Marsh 1967-70 Daniel L. Martin 1971-90 James J. Kennedy 1991-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1858 Apr 19: Edward Y. Rodgers, elected.
  • 1884: J. W. Savage, died in office.
  • 1905: James B. Furber (Rep), elected.
  • 1906 Jan 22: James B. Furber, resigned.
  • 1909 Nov 2: William Howard (Rep), elected.
  • 1930 Nov 4: Alfred C. Brooks (Rep), elected; Thomas J. Loughlin (Dem), defeated.
  • 1932 Nov 8: Alfred C. Brooks (Rep), elected.
  • 1934 Nov 6: John E. Barger (Dem), elected; Fayette N. Talley (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Rahway, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    S. M. Oliver as of 1887 H. B. Rollinson as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/rahway.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]