The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
including Amboy
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Perth Amboy, 1815-2007 (may be incomplete!)
James Parker as of 1815 James Harriott 1844 Francis W. Brinley 1845 William Paterson 1846 Francis W. Brinley 1847 Lawrence Kearny 1848 Solomon Andrews 1849 James Parker 1850 Lewis Compton 1851 Theodore F. King 1852 Solomon Andrews 1853 Joseph D. Forbes 1854 Solomon Andrews 1855 William Paterson 1855-56 Edward I. Hall 1857 William Paterson 1858-60 Edward I. Hall 1861 Joseph L. Crowell 1862 Alfred Hall 1863-68 James M. Chapman 1869 Joseph L. Crowell 1870-71 John G. Garretson 1872-73 William Paterson 1874-78 Eber H. Hall 1879-80 U. B. Watson 1881 John G. Garretson 1882-86 James Growney 1887-88 Thomas Armstrong 1888-90 E. R. Pierce 1890-93 Edward W. Barnes 1894-95 Ira B. Tice 1896-98 James L. Compton 1898-1900 Adam Eckert 1901 Charles K. Seaman 1902-03 H. Martyn Brace 1904-05 John Pfeiffer 1906 Albert Bollschweiler 1906-10 William D. Voorhees 1911 Ferd Garretson 1912-16 John F. Ten Broeck 1917-18 Frank Dorsey 1918-19 William C. Wilson 1920-26 Edward James Patten as of 1934-40 James J. Flynn, Jr. as of 1950-70 George J. Otlowski 1976-90 Joseph Vas as of 2007

Postmasters at Perth Amboy, 1842-1969 (may be incomplete!)
Lewis Golding 1842-43 Benjamin F. Arnold 1843-49 William S. Russ 1849-53 John Manning 1853-56 Richard P. Barton 1856-61 John F. Ten Broeck 1861-67 John Tomlinson 1867-69 Elam Sanford 1869-81 John F. Ten Broeck 1881-85 John Fothergill 1885-90 George H. Tice 1890-94 Cornelius P. Comery 1894-98 George H. Tice 1898-1911 William H. Pfeiffer 1911-16 Richard F. White 1916-23 John H. Tyrrell 1923 John H. Tyrrell 1923-29 Fred P. Hanson 1929 Fred P. Hanson 1929-33 John J. Quinn 1933-34 John J. Quinn 1934-54 Edward D. Flynn 1954-55 Jacob I. Polkowitz 1955-56 Howard F. Koons 1956-66 Ernest M. Muska 1966-67 Ernest M. Muska 1967-69

(renamed Perth Amboy 1842)

Postmasters at Amboy, 1792-1842 (may be incomplete!)
John Thompson 1792-94 Edward John Ball 1794-95 Joseph Golding 1795-96 George Wright 1796-98 Robert Ralston 1798-1801 Simeon Drake 1801-12 Robert Arnold 1812-27 Lewis Golding 1827-30 James Harriott 1830-41 Lewis Golding 1841-42

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/perthamboy.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]