The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Paterson, New Jersey

Mayors of Paterson, 1854-2007 (may be incomplete!)
John J. Brown 1854 Brant Van Blarcom 1855 Samuel Smith 1856 Peregrine Sandford 1857-58 Silas D. Canfield 1859 Edwin S. Prall 1860-61 Henry A. Williams 1862-65 William G. Watson 1866 Henry A. Williams 1867 Nathaniel Townsend 1868 John Ryle 1869-70 Socrates Tuttle 1871-72 Nathaniel Townsend 1873-74 Benjamin Buckley 1875-78 Joseph R. Graham 1879-80 David T. Gillmor 1881-82 Nathan Barnert 1883-86 Charles D. Beckwith 1887-88 Nathan Barnert 1889-90 Thomas Beveridge 1891-92 Christian Braun 1893-96 John V. Hinchliffe 1897-1903 William H. Belcher 1904-05 David Young 1905 John Johnson 1906-07 William Berdam 1907 Andrew F. McBride 1908-13 Robert H. Fordyce 1914-15 Amos H. Radcliffe 1916-19 Clifford L. Newman 1919 Frank J. Van Noort 1920-23 Colin M. McLean 1924-27 Raymond J. Newman 1928 William Cadmus 1928 John V. Hinchliffe 1928-37 Bernard L. Stafford 1938-39 William P. Furrey 1940-47 Michael U. DeVita 1948-51 Lester F. Titus 1952-55 Edward J. O'Byrne 1956-59 William H. Dillistin 1959-60 Frank F. Graves, Jr. 1961-66 Lawrence F. Kramer 1967-71 Arthur C. Dwyer 1971-72 Thomas Rooney 1972-75 Lawrence F. Kramer 1975-82 Frank X. Graves, Jr. 1982-90 Anna Lisa Dopirak 1990 Bill Pascrell, Jr. 1990-96 Martin G. Barnes 1997-2002 Jose Torres as of 2007

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1907 Sep 24: John Johnson, died in office.
  • 1909 Nov 2: Andrew F. McBride (Dem), elected.
  • 1915: John A. Stafford (Dem), defeated.
  • 1927 Nov 8: Raymond J. Newman (Dem), elected; George M. Mitchell, Jr. (Rep), defeated.
  • 1928 Jun 13: Raymond J. Newman, died in office.
  • 1943 Nov 2: William P. Furrey (Rep), elected.
  • 1945 Nov 6: William P. Furrey (Rep), elected.
  • 1953 Nov 3: Lester F. Titus (Rep), elected.
  • 1959 Dec 6: Edward J. O'Byrne, died in office.
  • 1990 Mar 4: Frank X. Graves, Jr., died in office.
  • 2002: Martin G. Barnes, defeated.

    Postmasters at Paterson, 1812-1985 (may be incomplete!)
    Henry Godwin 1812-16 Abraham Godwin, Jr. 1816-29 Moses E. DeWitt 1829-41 John Parke 1841-43 William D. Quin 1843-49 Abraham Godwin 1849 William Dickey 1849-53 William D. Quin 1853-57 David D. Hennion 1857-61 Darius Wells 1861-66 William Davidson, Jr. 1866-67 Darius Wells 1867-74 John L. Conklin 1874-87 John Johnson 1887-91 William A. Hopson 1891-95 Andrew H. Demarest 1895-96 Herman J. Kohlhaas 1896-97 Herman J. Kohlhaas 1897-1900 George W. Pollitt 1900-13 James P. McNair 1913-21 Harry J. Corwin 1922 Harry J. Corwin 1922-26 Henry C. Allen 1926 Henry C. Allen 1926-35 Thomas L. Kelley 1935 Thomas L. Kelley 1935-52 David B. Morgan 1952 David B. Morgan 1952-54 Robert Wardle 1954 Frank W. Murphy 1954 Frank W. Murphy 1954-85

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1896 Nov 4: Andrew H. Demarest, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/paterson.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]