The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of New Brunswick, New Jersey

Mayors of New Brunswick, 1794-2018 (may be incomplete!)
John Bubenheim Bayard 1794-96 Abraham Schuyler 1796-1801 James Schureman 1801-13 James Bennett 1813-21 James Schureman 1821-24 Augustus R. Taylor 1824-29 Cornelius Low Hardenbergh 1829-38 Augustus R. Taylor 1838-40 David M. Vail 1840-41 Littleton Kirkpatrick 1841-42 Fitz Randolph Smith 1842-43 John Acken 1843-45 William H. Leupp 1845-46 John Van Dyke 1846-47 Martin A. Howell 1847-48 Augustus R. Taylor 1848-49 David F. Randolph 1849-51 Peter N. Wyckoff 1851-52 John Van Dyke 1852-53 John B. Hill 1853-55 Abraham V. Schenck 1855-56 Lyle van Nuis 1856-57 John B. Kirkpatrick 1857-58 Tunis V. D. Hoagland 1858-59 Peter C. Onderdonk 1859-60 Ezekiel M. Patterson 1860-61 Lyle van Nuis 1861-63 Richard McDonald 1863-65 Augustus T. Stout 1865 John T. Jenkins 1865-67 Miles Ross 1867-69 George J. Janeway 1869-71 Garret Conover 1871-73 Thomas M. DeRussy 1873-75 Isaiah Rolfe 1875-77 Lyle van Nuis 1877-79 T. De Witt Reiley 1879-81 William S. Strong 1881-89 James H. Van Cleef 1889-95 Nicholas Williamson 1895-1902 George A. Viehmann 1902-04 William S. Meyers 1904-06 Drury W. Cooper 1906-08 W. Edwin Florance 1908-10 John J. Morrison 1910-14 Austin Scott 1914-15 Edward F. Farrington 1915-18 John J. Morrison 1918-35 Frederick F. Richardson 1935-39 Richard V. Mulligan 1939-42 Harry W. Dwyer 1942-43 Chester W. Paulus 1943-51 John A. Lynch 1951-55 Chester W. Paulus 1955-67 Patricia Q. Sheehan 1967-74 Aldrage B. Cooper, Jr. 1974-75 Richard J. Mulligan 1975-78 Gilbert L. Nelson 1978 John A. Lynch, Jr. 1979-91 James M. Cahill 1991-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1821: James Bennett, died in office.
  • 1824 Jan 22: James Schureman, died in office.
  • 1858: John B. Kirkpatrick, resigned.
  • 1865: Augustus T. Stout, died in office.
  • 1909 Nov 2: G. T. Applegate (Dem), elected.
  • 1974: Patricia Q. Sheehan, resigned; Aldrage B. Cooper, Jr., appointed.
  • 1978: Richard J. Mulligan, resigned; Gilbert L. Nelson, appointed.

    Postmasters at New Brunswick, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    William H. Price as of 1887 C. W. Russell as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/newbrunswick.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]