The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Elizabeth, New Jersey
including Elizabethtown
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Elizabeth, 1855-2007 (may be incomplete!)
Elias Darby 1855-60 James Jenkins 1860-61 James B. Burnet 1861-62 Philip H. Grier 1862-70 Francis B. Chetwood 1871-72 William A. Coursen 1873-74 Robert W. Townley 1875-77 James S. Green 1878 Robert W. Townley 1879 Peter Bennett 1880-81 Seth B. Ryder 1882 Joseph H. Grier 1883-90 John C. Rankin, Jr. 1890-98 William A. M. Mack 1898-1901 Patrick J. Ryan 1901-05 Samuel J. Berry 1905-07 Patrick J. Ryan 1907-09 Victor Mravlag 1909-11 Alfred A. Stein 1911-13 Victor Mravlag 1913-23 John F. Kenah 1923-32 Thomas Williams 1933-35 Joseph A. Brophy 1935-39 James T. Kirk 1939-52 Nicholas S. LaCorte 1953-56 Steven J. Bercik 1957-64 Thomas G. Dunn 1964-92 J. Christian Bollwage 1993-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1855 Apr 9: Elias Darby, elected.
  • 1889 Dec 3: John C. Rankin, Jr. (Rep), elected.
  • 1891: John C. Rankin, Jr. (Rep), elected; Frederick L. Heidritter (Dem), defeated.
  • 1901 Jan 14: William A. M. Mack, died in office.
  • 1930 Nov 4: John F. Kenah (Dem), elected; Welcome W. Bender (Rep), defeated.
  • 1932 Nov 8: Thomas Williams (Rep), elected.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Joseph A. Brophy (Dem), elected; Charles L. Morgan (Rep), defeated.
  • 1952 Nov 4: Nicholas S. LaCorte (Rep), elected; James T. Kirk (Dem), defeated.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Steven J. Bercik (Dem), elected; Nicholas S. LaCorte (Rep), defeated.
  • 1961: Thomas G. Dunn, defeated.
  • 1992: Thomas G. Dunn (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1992: J. Christian Bollwage, elected.
  • 1996: J. Christian Bollwage, elected.
  • 2000: J. Christian Bollwage, elected.

    Postmasters at Elizabeth, 1855-1970 (may be incomplete!)
    Joseph C. Hinchman 1855-61 Joseph G. Crane 1861-65 Chauncey Harris 1865-85 James T. Wiley 1885-89 Samuel S. Moore 1889-93 Patrick Sheridan 1893-96 William J. Whelan 1896-1901 Palmer H. Charlock 1901-13 Patrick J. Ryan 1913-17 William F. Barry 1917-20 William F. Barry 1920-24 Charles E. Bishop 1924-36 John P. Leonard 1936-37 John P. Leonard 1937-54 George F. Baurhenn 1954 William H. Runyon 1954-55 William H. Runyon 1955-70

    (renamed Elizabeth in 1855)

    Mayors of Elizabethtown, 1739-1855 (may be incomplete!)
    Joseph Bonnell 1739-48 Samuel Woodruff 1748-62 Samuel Crane 1788-89 John De Hart 1789-95 Elias Dayton 1795-1805 Caleb Halsted, Jr. 1805-22 Jeremiah Ballard 1822-23 Caleb Halsted, Jr. 1825-30 Isaac H. Williamson 1830-33 Stephan P. Brittan 1833-38 Smith Scudder 1838-39 William Chetwood 1839-42 David Naar 1842-45 Elias Winans 1845-46 Francis B. Chetwood 1846-47 Edward Sanderson 1847-51 Francis B. Chetwood 1851-53 Elias Darby 1853-55

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1748 Mar 14: Joseph Bonnell, died in office.
  • 1795 Jun 1: John De Hart, died in office.
  • 1823 Sep 4: Jeremiah Ballard, died in office.

    Postmasters at Elizabethtown, 1775-1855 (may be incomplete!)
    John De Hart 1775-76 Edward Thomas 1776-83 Samuel Smith 1783-84 George Everson 1784 Samuel Smith 1784-89 William Shute 1789-92 Lewis Woodruff 1792-93 James Chapman 1793-1822 Shepard Kollock 1822-29 Thomas B. C. Dayton 1829-50 John I. Bryant 1850-53 Joseph C. Hinchman 1853-55

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/elizabeth.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]