The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of East Orange, New Jersey

Mayors of East Orange, 1899-2014 (may be incomplete!)
Edward E. Bruen 1899-1905 William Cardwell 1905-11 Julian A. Gregory 1911-15 Worrall F. Mountain 1915-17 Charles H. Martens 1918-52 William M. McConnell 1952-58 James W. Kelly, Jr. 1958-69 William S. Hart 1970-77 Thomas Cooke 1978-85 John C. Hatcher, Jr. 1986-89 Cardell Cooper 1990-97 Robert L. Bowser 1998-2013 Lester E. Taylor 2014-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1928: Charles H. Martens (Rep), elected.
  • 1930 Nov 4: Charles H. Martens (Rep), elected; Joseph A. Burns (Dem), defeated.
  • 1932 Nov 8: Charles H. Martens (Rep), elected.
  • 1948: Charles H. Martens (Rep), elected.
  • 2009 Jun 2: Robert L. Bowser (Dem), nominated; Kevin Taylor (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2009 Nov 3: Robert L. Bowser (Dem), elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at East Orange, 1869-1989 (may be incomplete!)
    Isaac C. Beach 1869-75 Stephen M. Long 1875-86 Mary E. Simonson 1886-90 William H. Baldwin 1890-92 Louis McCloud 1892-94 Benjamin Hilton 1894-99 Marcus Mitchell 1899-1912 Benjamin Hilton 1912-13 Ethelbert Tracy Lanterman 1913-21 Louis A. Streit 1921 Louis A. Streit 1921-33 Philip L. Fellinger 1933-34 Philip L. Fellinger 1934-49 Joseph A. Glennon, Jr. 1949-53 Irving Krieger 1953-54 Irving Krieger 1954-89

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/eastorange.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]