The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Camden, New Jersey
including Cooper's Ferry
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Camden, 1828-2007 (may be incomplete!)
Samuel Laning 1828-30 Gideon V. Stivers 1830-38 Elias Kaighn 1838-40 Lorenzo F. Fisler 1840-44 John K. Cowperthwaite 1844-45 Charles Kaighn 1845-46 Thomas B. Wood 1846-48 Benjamin A. Hammell 1848-49 Charles Sexton 1849-51 Lorenzo F. Fisler 1851-52 Charles D. Hineline 1852-53 Lorenzo F. Fisler 1853-55 Samuel Scull 1855-56 James W. Shroff 1856-57 Benjamin A. Hammell 1857-58 Clayton Truax 1858-60 Thomas B. Atkinson 1860-62 Paul C. Budd 1862-63 Timothy Middleton 1863-64 Paul C. Budd 1864-67 Charles Cox 1867-71 Samuel M. Gaul 1871-74 John H. Jones 1874-76 John Morgan 1876-77 James W. Ayers 1877-80 Claudius W. Bradshaw 1880-86 Jesse Pratt 1886-92 John E. Nowrey as of 1901-04 Charles H. Ellis as of 1915 R. T. Stewart as of 1932 Frederick von Nieda as of 1935-36 George E. Brunner as of 1937-56 Angelo J. Errichetti 1974-77 Milton Milan as of 1997-2000 Gwendolyn A. Faison as of 2007

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1830: Samuel Laning, resigned.
  • 1844: John K. Cowperthwaite, elected.
  • 1845: Richard W. Howell, elected, but never took office.
  • 1846: Thomas B. Wood, elected.
  • 1847: Thomas B. Wood, elected.
  • 1848: Benjamin A. Hammell (American), elected; Jonathan Burr (Dem), defeated; Lorenzo F. Fisler (Whig), defeated.
  • 1849: Charles Sexton (Whig & American), elected; Charles D. Hineline (Dem), defeated.
  • 1850: Charles Sexton (Whig), elected; George Smith (Dem), defeated.
  • 1851: Lorenzo F. Fisler (American), elected; John Sands (Dem), defeated; Othniel H. Taylor (Whig), defeated.
  • 1852: Charles D. Hineline (Dem), elected; Lorenzo F. Fisler (American), defeated; Walter Patton (Whig), defeated.
  • 1853: Lorenzo F. Fisler (American & Whig), elected; Albert W. Markley (Dem), defeated.
  • 1854: Lorenzo F. Fisler (American), elected; John K. Cowperthwaite (Dem), defeated.
  • 1857: Benjamin A. Hammell (Dem), elected; Joseph J. Moore (American), defeated; Charles Reeves (Rep), defeated.
  • 1859: Gideon V. Stivers (Dem), defeated; Lorenzo F. Fisler (Rep), defeated.
  • 1866: Lorenzo F. Fisler (Dem), defeated.
  • 1869: Lorenzo F. Fisler (Dem), defeated.
  • 1973 May 8: Major B. Coxson, defeated.
  • 1985 May 14: Melvin R. Primas, elected; Helen McHugh, defeated.

    Postmasters at Camden, 1829-1982 (may be incomplete!)
    Isaiah Toy 1829-38 Isaac Bullock 1838-40 James Elwell 1840-49 Charles Bontemps 1849-52 Jonathan Burr 1852-53 John Hanna 1853-61 Samuel Andrews 1861-63 Richard H. Lee 1863-66 Timothy C. Moore 1866-67 Richard H. Lee 1867-79 Henry B. Wilson 1879-83 William T. Bailey 1883-85 Charles Janney 1885-89 William J. Browning 1889-94 Harry B. Paul 1894-98 Louis T. DeRousse 1898-1903 Robert L. Barber 1903-13 Charles P. Sayrs 1913 Harry M. Knight 1913-22 Charles H. Ellis 1922-34 Emma E. Hyland 1934-35 Emma E. Hyland 1935-45 Edward Praiss 1945-46 Edward Praiss 1946-64 Dennis J. Manning 1964-67 Robert W. McArthur 1967-68 Frederick H. Martin 1968 Frederick H. Martin 1968-82

    Cooper's Ferry
    (incorporated as Camden 1828)

    Postmasters at Cooper's Ferry, 1802-29 (may be incomplete!)
    Benjamin B. Cooper 1802-05 Charles Cooper 1806-10 Richard M. Cooper 1810-29

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/camden.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]