The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Laconia, New Hampshire

Mayors of Laconia, 1893-2002 (may be incomplete!)
Charles A. Busiel 1893-95 Samuel B. Smith 1895-97 Charles S. Pulsifer 1897-99 Edmund Tetley 1899-1901 Jared A. Greene 1901-03 Woodbury L. Melcher 1903-05 Benjamin F. Drake 1905-07 William F. Knight 1907-09 Alfred C. Wyatt 1909-11 George W. Saltmarsh 1911-13 George B. Cox 1913-15 George P. Munsey 1915-17 Clarence E. Rowe 1917-19 John A. Mitchell 1919-21 Lewis N. Wilkinson 1921-23 Charles H. Perkins 1923-25 George E. Stevens 1925-27 Charles J. Hayford 1927-29 Charles O. Hopkins 1929-30 Charles E. Carroll 1930-35 Walter E. Dunlap 1935-36 Charles E. Carroll 1936-37 Edward J. Gallagher 1937-39 Robinson W. Smith 1939-45 Malcolm E. Barney 1945-47 Albert Parmentier 1947-49 Thomas J. McIntyre 1949-51 Robinson W. Smith 1951-53 Gerard L. Morin 1953-55 Bernard Boutin 1955-59 J. Oliva Huot 1959-63 Hugh H. Bownes 1963-65 Peter R. Lessard 1965-67 James Royal 1967-68 Rodney N. Dyer 1968-69 B. Donald Tabor 1969-71 Rodney N. Dyer 1971-74 Edwin I. Chertok 1974-76 Roger B. McGrath 1976-82 Alan B. Wilson 1982-84 Armand A. Bolduc 1984-86 Karl P. Reitz 1986-88 Wesley J. Colby 1988-90 Thomas A. Tardif 1990-92 Paul T. Fitzgerald 1992-96 Matthew J. Lahey 1996-2002 Mark Fraser 2002-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1968: James Royal, resigned.

    Postmasters at Laconia, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Nathaniel J. Edgerly as of 1887 F. H. Gilman as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NH/ofc/laconia.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]