The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Keene, New Hampshire

Mayors of Keene, 1874-2008 (may be incomplete!)
Horatio Colony 1874-75 Edward Farrar 1876-77 Reuben Stewart 1878-79 Horatio Kimball 1880 Ira W. Russell 1881-82 Horatio Kimball 1883-84 Alfred T. Batchelder 1885-86 Asa Smith 1887-88 Herbert B. Viall 1889-90 Horatio Kimball 1891 Frederic A. Faulkner 1892-94 George W. McDuffee 1895-96 Francis A. Perry 1897 George H. Eames 1898-99 Austin A. Ellis 1900 Francis A. Perry 1901-02 James S. Taft 1903-05 Martin V. B. Clark 1906-09 John E. Benton 1910 Charles Gale Shedd 1911-13 Herbert E. Fay 1914-15 Orville E. Cain 1916 George H. Eames, Jr. 1917-18 William H. Watson 1919-20 Orville E. Cain 1921-22 Robert T. Kingsbury 1923-25 Arthur R. Jones 1926-28 Forrest L. Carey 1929-30 John J. Landers 1931 Nathan C. Sibley 1932-33 George F. T. Trask 1934-37 William J. Callahan 1938 Richard L. Holbrook 1938-45 James C. Farmer 1946-47 Frederick D. Mitchell 1948-49 Leroy S. Ford 1950-51 Laurence M. Pickett 1952-55 J. Alfred Dennis 1956-57 Richard P. Gilbo 1958-60 Charles A. Coolidge 1960-61 Robert L. Mallat, Jr. 1962-65 Richard E. Bean 1966-69 Robert H. Clark, Jr. 1970-71 James A. Masiello 1972-75 George M. Rossiter 1976-77 Richard P. Peloquin 1978-81 L. Edward Reyor 1982-87 Aaron A. Lipsky 1988-93 William F. Lynch 1994-95 Patricia T. Russell 1996-99 Michael E. J. Blastos 2000-07 Philip Dale Pregent 2008-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1938 Jul 27: William J. Callahan, died in office.
  • 1938 Jul 28: Richard L. Holbrook, appointed.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Richard L. Holbrook, elected.
  • 1953 Nov 3: Laurence M. Pickett, elected; Cleon E. Heald, defeated.
  • 1960 May 18: Richard P. Gilbo, died in office.

    Postmasters at Keene, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Ormond E. Colony as of 1887 J. P. Wellman as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NH/ofc/keene.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]