The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Omaha, Nebraska
including South Omaha
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Omaha, 1857-2016 (may be incomplete!)
Jesse Lowe 1857-58 Andrew Jackson Poppleton 1858 George Robert Armstrong 1858-59 David Douglas Belden 1859-60 Clinton Briggs 1860-61 George Robert Armstrong 1861-62 Benjamin Eli Barnet Kennedy 1862-64 Addison R. Gilmore 1864-65 Lorin Miller 1865-67 Charles H. Brown 1867-68 George Roberts 1868-69 Ezra Millard 1869-71 Smith S. Caldwell 1871-72 Joseph H. Millard 1872-73 William M. Brewer 1873-74 James S. Gibson 1874 Champion S. Chase 1874-77 Reuben H. Wilbur 1877-79 Champion S. Chase 1879-81 James E. Boyd 1881-83 Champion S. Chase 1883-84 Patrick F. Murphy 1884-85 James E. Boyd 1885-87 William J. Broatch 1887-90 Richard C. Cushing 1890-92 George P. Bemis 1892-96 William J. Broatch 1896-97 William F. Bechel 1897 Frank E. Moores 1897-1906 Harry B. Zimman 1906 James C. Dahlman 1906-18 Edward Parsons Smith 1918-21 James C. Dahlman 1921-30 John H. Hopkins 1930 Richard L. Metcalfe 1930-33 Roy Nathan Towl 1933-36 Dan B. Butler 1936-45 Charles W. Leeman 1945-48 Glenn Cunningham 1948-54 John R. Rosenblatt 1954-61 James J. Dworak 1961-65 Alexander V. Sorenson 1965-69 Eugene A. Leahy 1969-73 Edward Zorinsky 1973-76 Robert G. Cunningham 1976-77 Albert L. Veys 1977-81 D. Michael Boyle 1981-87 Stephen H. Tomasek, Jr. 1987 Bernard R. Simon 1987-88 Fred L. Conley 1988 Walter M. Calinger 1988-89 Paul J. Morgan, Jr. 1989-94 Sebastian Anzaldo 1994-95 Hal Daub, Jr. 1995-2001 Mike Fahey 2001-09 Jim Suttle 2009-13 Jean Stothert 2013-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1906 Mar 23: Frank E. Moores, died in office.
  • 1930 Jan 21: James C. Dahlman, died in office.
  • 1961: James F. Green, defeated.
  • 1965 Apr 6: Alexander V. Sorenson, nominated; James J. Dworak, nominated; Warren R. Swigart, defeated in primary.
  • 1965 May 11: Alexander V. Sorenson, elected; James J. Dworak, defeated.
  • 1988 Apr 13: Bernard R. Simon, died in office.
  • 1997 Apr 1: Hal Daub, Jr., nominated; Brenda Council, nominated; Lou Lamberty, defeated in primary.
  • 1997 May 13: Hal Daub, Jr., elected; Brenda Council, defeated.
  • 2001 Apr 3: Mike Fahey, nominated; Hal Daub, Jr., nominated.
  • 2001 May 15: Mike Fahey, elected; Hal Daub, Jr., defeated.
  • 2005 Apr 5: Mike Fahey, nominated; David Friend, nominated; Peter Kroger, defeated in primary.
  • 2005 May 10: Mike Fahey, elected; David Friend, defeated.
  • 2009 Apr 7: Hal Daub, Jr., nominated; Jim Suttle, nominated; Jim Vokal, defeated in primary; Randy William Brown, defeated in primary; Mort Sullivan, defeated in primary.
  • 2009 May 12: Jim Suttle, elected; Hal Daub, Jr., defeated.
  • 2013 Apr 2: Jean Stothert, nominated; Jim Suttle, nominated; Dave Nabity, defeated in primary; Brad Ashford, defeated in primary; Dan Welch, defeated in primary; Maura DeLuca, defeated in primary; Mort Sullivan, defeated in primary.
  • 2013 May 14: Jean Stothert, elected; Jim Suttle, defeated.

    Postmasters at Omaha, 1855-1983 (may be incomplete!)
    David Lindley 1855 Laurence H. Frank 1855 William W. Wyman 1855-57 Theodore H. Robertson 1857 William W. Wyman 1857 Theodore H. Robertson 1857-59 Charles W. Hamilton 1859 William W. Wyman 1859-61 George R. Smith 1861-70 John H. Kellom 1870-71 John H. Kellom 1871-72 Joel T. Griffen 1872 Casper E. Yost 1872-77 Thomas F. Hall 1877-83 Charles K. Coutant 1883-87 Constantine V. Gallagher 1887-90 Thaddeus S. Clarkson 1890-95 Euclid Martin 1895-99 Joseph Crow 1899-1904 Henry E. Palmer 1904-08 Benjamin F. Thomas 1908-12 Charles E. Wharton 1912-16 Charles E. Fanning 1916-20 Herbert S. Daniel 1920-21 Charles H. Black 1921-25 J. Dean Ringer 1925-26 J. Dean Ringer 1926-31 Frank C. Patton 1931-32 Frank C. Patton 1932-36 Harley G. Moorhead 1936-44 William L. Eckhardt 1944-45 John H. Hopkins 1945-54 Walter Korisko 1955 Walter Korisko 1955-61 John P. Munnelly 1961-63 John P. Munnelly 1963-83

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1954 Nov 29: John H. Hopkins, died in office.

    South Omaha
    (annexed to Omaha 1915)

    Postmasters at South Omaha, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    W. G. Sloane as of 1887 F. J. Etter as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NE/ofc/omaha.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]