The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Fargo, North Dakota

Mayors of Fargo, 1875-2014 (may be incomplete!)
George Egbert 1875-76 Evan S. Tyler 1876-77 George Egbert 1877-80 Jasper B. Chapin 1880-82 William A. Kindred 1882-83 Woodford A. Yerxa 1883-85 John A. Johnson 1885-86 Charles Scott 1886-87 Alanson W. Edwards 1887-88 Seth Newman 1888-90 Wilbur F. Ball 1890-92 Emerson H. Smith 1892-94 Wilbur F. Ball 1894-96 John A. Johnson 1896-1902 William D. Sweet 1902-04 Aurelius L. Wall 1904-05 John A. Johnson 1906-07 Peter Elliott 1907-10 Vernon R. Lovell 1910-12 William D. Smith 1912-13 Henry F. Emery 1913-17 Alex Stern 1917-21 Hamilton W. Geary 1921-25 John H. Dahl 1925-29 Alf T. Lynner 1929-33 Fred O. Olsen 1933-46 Charles A. Dawson 1946-50 Murray A. Baldwin 1950-54 Herschel Lashkowitz 1954-74 Richard A. Hentges 1974-78 Jon Lindgren 1978-94 Bruce Furness 1994-2006 Dennis R. Walaker 2006-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1876: Evan S. Tyler, elected.
  • 1887 Apr 8: Alanson W. Edwards, elected.
  • 1890 Mar 24: Seth Newman, resigned.
  • 1907 Jun 14: John A. Johnson, died in office.
  • 1974: Herschel Lashkowitz, defeated.
  • 2006 Jun 13: Dennis R. Walaker, elected.
  • 2010 Jun 8: Dennis R. Walaker, elected; Lenny Tweeden, defeated; Robert Gates, defeated; Ahmed Haji, defeated.
  • 2014 Jun 10: Dennis R. Walaker, elected; Brad Wimmer, defeated.

    Postmasters at Fargo, 1889-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    William G. Judd 1889-92 John J. Jordan 1892-94 Joseph J. Hughes 1894-98 Almon L. Loomis 1898-1903 Ernest C. Eddy 1903-07 Horatio C. Plumley 1907-15 George W. Wilkinson 1915-18 Charles F. Alfred 1918 John P. Hardy 1918-23 Hugh C. Corrigan 1923-35 Winfield S. Hooper 1935 Winfield S. Hooper 1935-48 Wilda Bridgeford 1948-51 Donald C. Fraser 1951-71


    Postmasters at Fargo, 1872-89 (may be incomplete!)
    Gordon J. Keeney 1872-73 Walter D. Maddocks 1873-75 Edway A. Grant 1875-83 Noah N. Tyner 1883-87 William G. Judd 1887-89

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ND/ofc/fargo.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]