The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
including Winston, Salem
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Winston-Salem, 1913-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Oscar B. Eaton 1913-17 Robert W. Gorrell 1917-21 James G. Hanes 1921-25 Thomas Barber 1925-29 George W. Coan, Jr. 1929-35 W. T. Wilson 1935-39 James R. Fain 1939-41 R. J. 'Dick' Reynolds 1941-42 J. Wilbur Crews 1942-43 George W. Coan, Jr. 1943-45 George D. Lentz 1945-49 Marshall C. Kurfees 1949-61 John B. Surratt 1961-63 M. C. 'Red' Benton 1963-70 Franklin Shirley 1970-77 Wayne A. Corpening 1977-89 Martha Wood 1989-97 Jack A. Cavanagh, Jr. 1997-2001 Allen Joines 2001-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 2001 Nov 6: Allen Joines (Dem), elected; Jack A. Cavanagh, Jr. (Rep), defeated.
  • 2005: Allen Joines (Dem), elected.
  • 2009 Nov 3: Allen Joines (Dem), elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at Winston-Salem, 1901-74 (may be incomplete!)
    Charles A. Reynolds as of 1901-05 William Bryan Booe 1938-39 William Bryan Booe 1939-56 M. Vance Hickman 1956-61 Charles R. Isgett 1961-63 Charles R. Isgett 1963-74

    (merged to form Winston-Salem 1913)

    Mayors of Winston, 1859-1913 (may be incomplete!)
    William Barrow 1859-60 Peter A. Wilson 1860-61 Robert Gray 1861-62 H. K. Thomas 1862-65 Thomas J. Wilson 1865-66 T. T. Best 1866-68 Jacob Tise 1868-71 J. W. Alspaugh 1871-72 T. T. Best 1872-73 J. W. Alspaugh 1873-74 T. T. Best 1874-75 J. W. Alspaugh 1875-76 D. P. Mast 1876 A. B. Gorrell 1876-77 Martin Grogan 1877-78 A. B. Gorrell 1878-82 Peter A. Wilson 1882-83 John C. Buxton 1883-84 Samuel H. Smith 1884-85 Charles Buford 1885-86 Thomas J. Wilson 1886-87 Charles Buford 1887-90 D. P. Mast 1890-92 Robah B. Kerner 1892-93 Garland E. Webb 1893-94 Eugene E. Gray 1894-96 P. W. Crutchfield 1896-98 A. B. Gorrell 1898 J. F. Griffith 1898-1900 Oscar B. Eaton 1900-11 Rufus I. Dalton 1911-13

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1876 Dec 1: D. P. Mast, resigned.
  • 1884 Nov 1: John C. Buxton, resigned.
  • 1885 Aug 4: Samuel H. Smith, resigned.
  • 1898: A. B. Gorrell, died in office.
  • 1909: Oscar B. Eaton, elected.

    Postmasters at Winston, 1887-89 (may be incomplete!)
    Samuel H. Smith as of 1887-89

    (merged to form Winston-Salem 1913)

    Mayors of Salem, 1857-1913 (may be incomplete!)
    Charles Brietz 1857-58 Elias A. Vogler 1858-59 Charles Brietz 1859-60 Augustus T. Zevely 1860-63 John G. Sides 1863-64 Joshua Boner 1864-65 Augustus T. Zevely 1865-66 Charles Brietz 1866-67 John P. Vest 1867-68 Augustus Fogle 1868-73 John P. Vest 1873-74 Elias A. Vogler 1874-75 Rufus L. Patterson 1875-76 Augustus Fogle 1876-78 J. F. Shaffner 1878-84 C. H. Fogle 1884-88 Augustus Fogle 1888-89 Henry E. Fries 1889-92 J. H. Stockton 1892-93 T. B. Douthit 1893-94 C. S. Hauser 1894-96 Samuel E. Butner 1896-1901 J. A. Vance 1901-03 Samuel E. Butner 1903-07 Frank Vogler 1907-11 F. A. Fogle 1911-13

    Postmasters at Salem, 1887-89 (may be incomplete!)
    T. B. Douthit as of 1887-89

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/ofc/winstonsalem.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]