The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Mooresville, North Carolina

Mayors of Mooresville, 1953-2009 (may be incomplete!)
W. Fred Morrow as of 1953 Boyce A. Brawley as of 1954-56

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 2009 Nov 3: Chris Montgomery, elected; Bill Thunberg, defeated.

    Postmasters at Mooresville, 1873-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    M. M. Culps 1873 Smiley J. Brown 1873-75 Thomas C. Alexander 1875-76 Robert L. Goodman 1876 Thomas C. Alexander 1876 Adam A. Klutts 1876 James S. Beaty 1876-80 Smiley J. Brown 1880-81 George A. Page 1881-82 George W. Templeton 1882-85 Margaret A. Fowler 1885-87 John R. McNeely 1887-89 James E. D. Templeton 1889-92 James B. Atwell 1892 James E. D. Templeton 1892 Robert S. Templeton 1892-93 David K. McNeely 1893-97 Robert S. Templeton 1897-1910 Alonzo C. Herley 1910-14 William D. Templeton 1914-22 S. M. Goodman 1922-23 Jay Shoaf 1923-25 George E. Brantley 1925-34 John M. Kennette 1934-35 John M. Kennette 1935-46 Ben S. Houston 1947 Ben S. Houston 1947-66 Joe D. Thompson 1966 Joe D. Thompson 1966-69

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1892: James E. D. Templeton, died in office.
  • 1946 Jun 23: John M. Kennette, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/ofc/mooresville.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]