The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Monroe, North Carolina

Mayors of Monroe, 1953-56 (may be incomplete!)
M. W. Williams as of 1953 D. E. Marable as of 1954-55 M. W. Williams as of 1956

Postmasters at Monroe, 1844-1986 (may be incomplete!)
Thomas D. Winchester 1844-61 William J. Willoughby 1866-68 Abraham N. Lawson 1868-73 John J. Hasty 1873-75 Jesse V. Hasty 1875-76 John J. Pickard 1876-77 Hillard J. Wolfe 1877-81 Jesse V. Hasty 1881-83 Nancy V. Hasty 1883-84 John S. Hasty 1884-85 John M. Thomas 1885-89 John S. Hasty 1889-94 Jefferson D. Helms 1894-98 John S. Hasty 1898-1908 Walter B. Love 1908-14 Edwin C. Winchester 1914-24 Peter P. W. Plyler 1924-28 James H. Edwards 1928-29 James H. Edwards 1929-33 Gillam Craig 1933-35 Gillam Craig 1935-41 Sam Hudson Lee 1941-43 Sam Hudson Lee 1943-57 Azer D. Baucom 1957-58 Azer D. Baucom 1958-65 Rowland Lomax 1965-67 Donald B. Harris 1967 Donald B. Harris 1967-86

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/ofc/monroe.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]