The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Eden, North Carolina
including Spray, Draper, Leaksville
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Eden, 2009 (may be incomplete!)

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 2009 Nov 3: John Grogan, elected; Tommy Woodall, defeated; Billy Vestal, defeated; Ron Janney, defeated.

    Postmasters at Eden, 1968-82 (may be incomplete!)
    Garrell C. Steagall 1968-82

    (merged to form Eden 1967)

    Postmasters at Spray, 1890-1968 (may be incomplete!)
    John W. Stephens 1890-93 J. Sanford Patterson 1893-99 James D. Martin 1899-1904 J. Sanford Patterson 1904-12 I. J. Jones 1912-13 L. M. Sheffield 1913-22 Hardie F. Hutchens 1922 Clarence C. Rowe 1922-27 James A. Grogan 1927-28 James A. Grogan 1928-35 Orlando H. Hodges 1935 Orlando H. Hodges 1935-51 Russell W. Hunter 1951-53 Neil D. Shively 1953-55 Neil D. Shively 1955-68

    (merged to form Eden 1967)

    Postmasters at Draper, 1906-68 (may be incomplete!)
    William B. Weaver 1906 Will E. Fearington 1906-07 Thomas R. Hundley 1907-15 Harry R. Lindsay 1915-22 Thomas R. Hundley 1922-24 Joseph S. Mitchell 1924 Joseph S. Mitchell 1924-35 John L. Cassell 1935-36 John L. Cassell 1936-61 Garrell C. Steagall 1961-63 Garrell C. Steagall 1963-68

    (merged to form Eden 1967)

    Postmasters at Leaksville, 1817-1968 (may be incomplete!)
    John Lenox 1817-26 Alexander A. Moir 1826-35 John M. Reynolds 1835-39 Richard Johnson 1839-42 Jones W. Burton 1842-65 Mary A. Burton 1866-88 Pryor Reynolds 1888-89 James R. Stephens 1889-92 David M. Vernon 1892-93 James M. Price 1893-97 David M. Vernon 1897-1904 James D. Martin 1904-08 Nettie S. Martin 1908-13 J. H. Lane 1913-17 William H. Lane 1917-20 J. H. Richardson 1920-21 James B. Fagg 1921-22 James B. Fagg 1922-31 William R. Stephens 1931-35 John E. Patterson 1935 John E. Patterson 1935-37 William W. Hampton 1937 William W. Hampton 1937-52 Munsey S. Hodges 1952-53 Judd M. Cox 1953-55 Numa D. Redmon, Jr. 1955-68

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/ofc/eden.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]