The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Asheville, North Carolina

Mayors of Asheville, 1869-2009 (may be incomplete!)
Thomas D. Johnston as of 1869 Robert M. Wells as of 1937 Earl W. Eller as of 1952-56

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 2009 Nov 3: Terry M. Bellamy, elected; Robert W. Edwards, defeated.

    Postmasters at Asheville, 1800-1973 (may be incomplete!)
    Patton 1800 Jeremiah Cleveland 1801-04 Andrew Erwin 1804-07 George Swain 1807-27 William Coleman 1827-42 Montraville Patton 1842-47 Ezra McCall Tate 1847-49 James L. McKee 1849-53 William L. Hilliard 1853-57 James H. Hilliard 1857-60 H. F. Wolstenholme 1865-66 John Jones 1866-73 Henry C. Hunt 1873 John A. Fagg 1873-77 David T. Millard 1877 John A. Fagg 1877-79 Goodson M. Roberts 1879-83 H. L. Gudger 1883-85 William T. Weaver 1885-89 George W. Cannon 1889-93 John P. Kerr 1893-97 Wallace W. Rollins 1897-1914 Owen Gudger 1914-21 Dan W. Hill 1921-22 Dan W. Hill 1922-33 Wythe M. Peyton 1933-34 Wythe M. Peyton 1934-48 George M. Foster 1948-49 Mark Sumner, Sr. 1949-66 Andrew J. Garner 1966 Andrew J. Garner 1966-73

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/ofc/asheville.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]