The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Asheboro, North Carolina
including Randolph Court House
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Asheboro, 1894-2011 (may be incomplete!)
E. B. Kearns as of 1894 William C. Hammer 1895-99 Henry Moring Robins 1907-09 Walter A. Bunch as of 1937-39 J. Frank McCrary as of 1952-53 James R. York as of 1954-56 W. Joe Trogdon 1983-2001 David Jarrell as of 2002-08 David H. Smith 2009-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 2001: David Jarrell, elected.
  • 2005: David Jarrell, elected.
  • 2009 Nov 3: David H. Smith, elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at Asheboro, 1814-1982 (may be incomplete!)
    Hezekiah Elliott 1814-15 Thomas Harvey 1815-18 Thomas Elliott 1818 Henry B. Ellott 1819-32 Benjamin Elliott 1832-39 John Ingram 1839-40 Joseph A. Worth 1840-46 John A. Craven 1846-51 Joseph H. Brown 1851-53 Matthew M. Troy 1853-54 Thomas M. Moore 1854 Lucy A. Baldwin 1854-62 David C. Dicks 1862-65 Lizzie A. Lawrence 1865-66 Eugenia B. McCain 1866-72 John S. Steed 1872 Della E. Moss 1872-74 Della E. Frazier 1874-86 Eugenia B. McCain 1886-1908 John M. Burrows 1908-13 Ernest L. Auman 1913-14 Romulus R. Ross 1914-22 Ulysses C. Richardson 1922-23 Ulysses C. Richardson 1923-28 Frank M. Wright 1928-29 Frank M. Wright 1929-33 John D. Redding 1933-35 John D. Redding 1935-48 Walter C. Craven 1948-59 Clyde T. Shaw 1959-61 Bessie W. Finch 1961-62 Bessie W. Finch 1962-82

    Randolph Court House
    (now Asheboro)

    Postmasters at Randolph Court House, 1794-1814 (may be incomplete!)
    John Morse 1794-99 M. Moss 1799-1800 John Harvey 1800-05 Benjamin Elliott 1805-09 Henry Branson 1810 Abel Cox 1811-14

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/ofc/asheboro.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]